BRITISH OPEN WEEK

Jordan Spieth Leads Heading Into Sunday

America’s Golfer looks to win another major

820876206.0

AMAZING GRACE!!!

HISTORY!

GREATEST ROUND…  EVER!!!

Revenge of the “EuroTrash”

FLASHBACK:

jalnichols: “Does anyone actually think that guys like Lahiri, Jaidee, Gallacher, Bjorn, Jimenez, Warren, and Grace would be able to achieve what Snedeker has playing on the PGA Tour? I think it’s pretty unlikely; those guys feast on the weaker European/Asian Tour events.

LannyH: “The author [jalnichols] asks if Lahiri, Jaidee, Gallacher, Bjorn, Jimenez, Warren, and Grace would be able to achieve what Snedeker has playing on the PGA Tour [then] says he finds it “highly unlikely.” Why so unlikely when 5 of those 7 finished ahead of Snedeker at last year’s British Open?  You don’t get on the Euro Tour by sending in proof-of-purchase seals from a sleeve of Titleists.

By the Way: Brooks Koepka, who just won the U.S. Open in a cakewalk, was an American member of the EuroTrash Tour.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to BRITISH OPEN WEEK

  1. Speedy says:

    Anybody home?

  2. ThreeWiggleExpert says:

    Apparently not. Shaping up to be a solid weekend! Not gonna lie, I’m pulling for Koooooch!

    • lannyh says:

      Kuch would be my top choice among those I’m not really for. Jordan, then Rory, then Poults or Kuch among the top nine. I remain somewhat anti-Koepka for reasons I don’t comprehend. I was a fan when he was playing in Europe.

      • ThreeWiggleExpert says:

        Seems it came from American Broadcasters referring to Koepka (like Woodland) as a “modern day athlete”….something along those lines.

  3. lannyh says:

    I had television coverage on as Golf Channel prepared to transition to NBC. [NOTE: Faldo and Gannon are miles better than the others. At least Justin Leonard is on instead of the once-great-now-awful Johnny Miller right now.] They were doing a little ten-minute filler thing with Chamblee and Lerner. I only watch live tournament coverage these days, so I had no idea what the Golf Channel “panelists” talk about in 2017. Well, incredibly, they were STILL talking about… Tiger Woods. Completely laughable at this point. I flipped over to local news on NBC to wait for live coverage.

    • ThreeWiggleExpert says:

      I too had the coverage on but wasn’t really able to focus on it. I did however catch Johnny Miller and Hicks talking about the historical round Grace turned in. In doing so, Johnny, not surprisingly, had to point out how “easy” the conditions and course setup was today. as if to diminish this accomplishment. Hell, he might as well have said, “that was a nice 62, but my 63 at the US Open was more impressive”. Such an a$$.

      • lannyh says:

        Both of you are right. Johnny has gotten unbearable, and the conditions were crazy easy.

        Johnny is now basically telling us the thoughts that run through his mind as he watches a shot. “It’s going long. It might roll back a little off that slope. There it goes. It rolled a little, but not a whole lot.” What the heck is the point of that stuff!

        Jordan, in the post-round, said he was eating better to improve his iron play, or something like that. I might have missed the exact point, but he stated that he was just kind of modestly making an improvement with the idea of longevity. Oh, and he was going to watch the number of repetitions on practice shots. What I heard was, “I have watched Tiger Woods. I’ve watched Rory McIlroy. I don’t want to repeat their mistakes. I’ve watched Phil Mickelson and Matt Kuchar and Steve Stricker. And I know about Jack Nicklaus. I want to be competitive well into my 40’s.”

        Now maybe I should not have tossed Rory on the Tiger Woods burnout wagon so quickly, but Rory has really struggled with injuries since he got “ripped” and “goes to the gym.” Also, about Rory… He really, really, really needs a club to place the ball in the fairway if he’s going to forego driver. You hit an iron off the tee to “avoid a big number,” but if you hit your iron into the tall grass, well, you give up 100+ yards to a driver in the tall grass.

        Yeah, probably the “he’s an athlete” stuff pushed me away from Koepka. I’ve never understood that angle. I like how Austin Connelly, at what, 5-7 and 140 is playing so well. And Beef can’t dunk a basketball, I’m guessing. As I get older and more cynical with each passing day, I think most everything said is propaganda with the aim of gaining money or power. I’m sure a focus group told them to stress that golfers are “athletes.”

        I think NBC is rotten to the core. Their golf coverage people are the absolute worst, their political coverage is biased and childish. I actually turned off the post game show on GC to turn on… CNN. As putrid as CNN is, I chose them over Chamblee. (Alas, I didn’t last long at CNN, either.)

  4. lannyh says:

    Masters champion Sergio Garcia injuring himself while hitting a bush in anger after a poor shot was instructive. A life lesson for all of us.

  5. ThreeWiggleExpert says:

    I know you hate Tiger and comparison’s to Tiger but I’m going to make some anyway.

    Round 1 – Jordan hits 5 of 14 fairways and shoots a bogey free 65.
    Round 2/3 – Jordan puts himself in some “bad” spots and either makes a putt or chips in to keep things going, and minimizes bogey’s while doing it.

    It really does remind me of how Tiger played. It wasn’t the prettiest but at the end of the day he got the ball in the hole in as few strokes as possible. Jordan is pretty much doing the exact same thing….and that’s not a bad thing!

    • lannyh says:

      Woods: Hit it as far as the leading edge technology tailored to his swing would allow. Find ball. Play it.

      Spieth: Paint the Sistine Chapel.

      Hey, by the way, are your Brandel Chamblee or Notah Begay? Rich Lerner? Is there anyone else still talking about Woods?

  6. Speedy says:

    Can’t beat The Blade.

    • lannyh says:

      The blade putter? You remind me of something… I think it’s Koepka who puts his index finger down his putter, and Poulter saw that a while back and started doing it himself. Well, I do that and always have, and I remember people giving me a hard time about it. But it wasn’t so bad after all, I guess.

      • Speedy says:

        The “After 40” grip.
        “The Blade”, nickname for someone who drains them from anywhere most of the time.

      • lannyh says:

        For me, it was the “Before 14” grip. Meaning that’s how my buddy taught me to putt at Putt-Putt.

    • lannyh says:

      Also, that was about a 2.5-stroke swing on the final hole. Jordan’s approach looked problematic but wound up safe, then he holes while Kuchar misses from much, much closer.

      Unless Jordan falters, the potential winners is probably a pretty slim category. Jordan is six ahead of 3rd place.

      • Speedy says:

        I expect him to win The Open and the PGA Championship, to complete his first career slam.

Leave a Reply

