Cleaning Up, Semi Live, Etc.

6:00 pm:  Can’t say I approve of Golf Channel booting the LPGA in order to cover the Travelers finale (that CBS jettisoned).  I’d rather see the Travelers, true, but it’s the wrong thing to do.

Okay, split screen is okay.  I can accept that.


  • I just took out the sidebar links for major tournament odds.  I wasn’t keeping them current, anyway.  These days everyone roughly knows what the odds are for any given player, so there’s not much demand for them.  At one time, people were interested in the routinely bizarre odds listed for Tiger Woods.
  • I plan to add a Make Me Pay link.  That way I can recall what I’m on the hook for regarding donations to St. Jude Children’s Hospital instead of having to spend fifteen minutes doing website searches every time I wonder.
  • So Rory made the cut, and Jordan leads.  Might be a worthwhile weekend after all.  I had not even seen the field until Friday morning.  Nice surprise.
  • If you haven’t heard or read the Bob Dylan Nobel Laureate Lecture, it’s worth the time.  He did a good job.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Cleaning Up, Semi Live, Etc.

  1. Speedy says:

    Apparently, the reason for the good Travelers field is a long overdue prodding by PGAT, requiring players without 25 starts the previous year, to play in one event the following year that they’ve not played in for the last four years. This won’t cover all the non-playing discrepancies, but it’s better than nothing. Too bad it took so long to employ.

    • lannyh says:

      I have mixed views on that philosophically, but it’s probably a beneficial thing.

      • Speedy says:

        I think many of the Tour’s backbone $6M to $7M tournaments (and smaller) deserve better. Here’s hoping this helps. Independent contracting with extensive cherry picking doesn’t do much for the growth of the Tour, nor its fans.This “big show” could easily dry up.

      • lannyh says:

        Well, if you think about it, a ladies tour, an old-timers tour, a developmental tour — they all stay afloat. The smaller tourneys are also huge for the on-the-line players who desperately want a win for the 2+ years of ensured membership. I’m not arguing against the new rule, just saying I can’t see the Tour going away. And a little “drying” might not be bad, anyway, in my opinion.

  2. ThreeWiggleExpert says:

    TPC River Highlands is one of those under rated golf courses on tour. I would love to go play that place!

    • Speedy says:

      The course has a heaping helping of old-style elements–water, sand, trees. Particularly water. I’ll continue to give it a miss.

  3. ThreeWiggleExpert says:

    Absolutely love seeing Boo up there at the top!!

Leave a Reply

