Friday U.S. Open Semi Live Blog

Evening Wrap

Would it be possible for an announcer in a post-round interview not to ask, “You have contended in a past major(s).  Will anything from that carry over to this tournament?”

Bad streak of missed putts for Rickie, but that’s the way it goes sometimes.  Ernie playing well; they said his 99th straight major; I thought he missed Masters this year; maybe it was his last one barring a win or move up rankings.  I expected DJ to make the cut after he put himself in position to do so.  Cameron Champ, amateur from Texas A&M, playing darn good.  Sergio probably kicking himself for not getting more out of his morning round.  I saw him miss a putt on his final hole which would have put him one better; I recall he left it short, headed for center of cup.

If you ask me, this is a bit of a squirrelly course.  I like Wisconsin as a location, though.  I guess this course is a Brit Open type course in America, which, sorry, I’m not a fan of.  I don’t want to see Augusta National in Scotland, and I don’t want to see St. Andrews in the U.S.

5:55 pm Update

Time for the switchover to regular Fox.  I like CBS, particularly Faldo, and Gannon/Nantz.  But this Joe Buck, Azinger, and the rest of these guys — as an entire group, as well as the visual features Fox gives us — get the nod from me as the best golf network going.  Maybe part of it is that I’m not totally worn out on these guys’ shtick like I am with GC, NBC, and (to a lesser extent) CBS.  Whatever the case, I’m loving this, and I’m glad this is on Fox.  Also Fox seems to be proud to host the event, showing it on their main network on Thursday and Friday, not just the weekend.

3:43 pm Update

Okay, this about Erin Hills is weird.  Wish I hadn’t read it.  So, if you know what’s good for you, skip it!

1:00 pm Update

Not only does it seem like Saturday to me, but it also seems three hours earlier than it actually is.  As a result, Fox Sports was two hours into live coverage before I tuned into the tourney.  Sergio treading water, which I don’t know if that is good, bad, or indifferent on this morning.  Si Woo Kim, all of 21 years old, is playing solid again today and sits T-2, one off the lead.  If he wins the U.S. Open after winning the Players, well, he better get a LOT of media coverage or I’ll have to recycle my Asian Bias column.

Can’t believe I’ve gone this long without typing “Xander.”

Morning Line

Selective Player Roundup

  • Buh-Bye:  Rory, Jason Day
  • Buh…: DJ
  • Not Out Of It: Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Steve Stricker(!)
  • In The Hunt: Rickie Fowler, Ernie and a bunch of other well-known players, really.  Rory playing poorly — and Jordan somewhat poorly — worsened the day for me more than it should have.
  • Going For the Slam: Sergio!

I’m for Rickie, yes.  His golfing start in Murrieta, California, with his grandfather is such a great story.  But, that said, I am leaning toward Sergio.  Wouldn’t Sergio winning be incredible?

By the way, the early groups yesterday definitely got the better side of the draw.

Was Phil Mickelson’s decision to skip this event made easy by the combination of the punitive rough and his wildness off the tee?  I say yes.

Today sure feels like Saturday.  I don’t know why.  It’s a personal issue, I know, but for whatever reason, it totally feels like Saturday to me.  Maybe because I already wrote off Rory as having missed the cut.

Poynter has an article out about Doug Ferguson, the golf writer.  He’s quoted as saying, “I don’t know a lot of people who go to the [PGA Tour] site except to look at the leaderboard.”  Guilty as charged!

Oh, I almost forgot.  How ’bout Davis Love and his boy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friday U.S. Open Semi Live Blog

  1. Kris says:

    It feels like Saturday for me, too, because I have the day off. I went to turn on FS1 earlier and Undisputed was on. Did you know that Rick and Skip Bayless are brothers? I knew they were equally insufferable and looked similar, but I didn’t know there was a reason until today.

    It does look like Early/Late got the better side of the draw. That bodes well for Rickie if he can keep it together this afternoon. Right now, I’d have to say I’d rather Rickie get his first win than Sergio win another. That’s motivated mostly by my desire to see Sergio win the British Open this year. I don’t want him going in there trying for 3 in a row straight out of the gate.

    • lannyh says:

      I big-time want Serg to get the Slam, though. That’d be huge, and a lesson “like no other” about persistence. But I’m definitely on-board with Rickie. The stuff I wrote about the Murrieta Driving Range — and my appeal to the major golf media to cover it, perhaps answered by CBS — is, I think, my proudest moment for this website.

      You know, I think people would write better articles if there were still a serious market for it. When people paid quite a bit of money each year for a Sports Illustrated subscription, SI could afford to pay a guy to spend a couple of months writing a good long-form article. Nowadays, some snarky, paint-by-numbers, written-in-five-minutes putdown will get as many page views/ad exposures as a solid quality piece. More, probably, because people read a Kyle Porter headline and immediately skip to the comments section to insult him. And they return day-after-day to do the same thing, never tiring of it. If he wrote a long-form article, people would spend time reading it rather than: click read headline – click leave insulting comment – click check for reply – click check click check click check for reply – click read response – click reply. Lather, rinse, repeat. And for each click, ten ads are painted on the screen, and perhaps “video starts” (auto-starts, of course) are also logged.

      I must plead ignorance as to who Rick Bayless is. Truth is, while I do know who Skip Bayless is and would recognize his voice, I don’t know much about him. Like Stephen A. Smith, I know him from the YouTube vid clips discussing Tiger Woods.

      • Kris says:

        I’m right with you on Sergio getting the slam, but I’m afraid of hoping for it, haha. That CBS piece was an uncanny coincidence…

        The long-form stuff that still exists is fantastic. There was a profile about Sergio and Angela on ESPN a few days ago that was great. I even enjoyed a long-form about an old football player I’d never heard of. Kyle Porter is capable of some wonderfully emotional long-form writing, but you’re right, the market is dwindling. I think it has less to do with people not wanting to read long stuff and more to do with people wanting to keep up with what’s going on in real time. It is more lucrative on the internet to have a sea of real-time clickbait articles than have one well-written write-up at the end of the day. I was afraid all well-written, longer articles were being discontinued, but it seems a lot of places have both now, even if the long-form stuff is more infrequent.

        Rick Bayless is a professional chef that specializes in Mexican food. He has a show on PBS called “Mexico: One Plate at a Time”. He’s quite the douche and I’m pretty sure he has bicep implants.

      • lannyh says:

        “people wanting to keep up with what’s going on in real time.”

        I definitely struggle with that. There’s a fun factor to such immediacy. Quite often, I look back at a month-old “issue” (sports, political, whatever) and it truly wasn’t worth spending one minute on. (In politics, it often proves to not even be true.) Yet, maybe, for a week, I might have semi-obsessed over it. If I used that time more constructively, I would know all Shakespeare’s plays and speak five foreign languages. But there’s something about “real time” that excites us. “Oh, this is big, this is huge, I’m outraged, I gotta follow it!” And the media fans those flames.

        You’re right that there is some good long-form writing still. In fact, there is a good website called Longform.com that provides links to some of the best (some sports, but it covers all kinds of stuff). I guess, for me, longform just tends to get covered up under all the “You Won’t Believe What XYZ Did…” type articles. But, you’re right, it’s out there.

  2. ThreeWiggleExpert says:

    Goodnight! Look at Hideki go! -6 through 11 on his round today!

    • lannyh says:

      Yeah, and I just saw him miss a makeable putt a hole or two ago. I’m at the point where I’m pulling for Rickie to the extent I’m pulling against Koepka. I better root against Hideki now, too. Awful early in the tourney to do that, but, hey, it’s a major.

Leave a Reply

