Memorial/Tiger Friday Live Blog

5:10 am:  What will this day bring?  Will Mister Jordan seize the lead heading into the weekend?  Will OWGR #1 shoot another +6?  Will Rickie continue to overcome an ugly triple bogey?  Will Jordan and Justin be playing together all four rounds?  Will Tiger Woods make an announcement?  The potential exists for this to be the greatest day in golf history!

Blast From the Past: Three years ago, I wrote this:

Evolution of a Tiger Woods fan, 1997-2014:

1. I am Tiger Woods.
2. He’s going to win 30 majors.
3. All husbands cheat on their wives.
4. He’s going to win 19 majors.
5. He said he didn’t take PEDs, and so what if he did.
6. Television ratings are higher when Woods plays.

I wonder should I update?  By the way, there’s new video out of Woods taking a Breathalyzer test.

NBA:  I heard this was the most-anticipated finals in a long, long time.  I’m no NBA fan (to put it mildly), but I will admit agreement.  I’ve heard of at least one player on each team, realize it’s a 2-out-of-3 rematch situation, etc.  It’s not Magic-Bird, but it’s pretty darn good.  That said, I forgot about the game last night and didn’t watch even one second.

Brilliant Lanny H:  Having one of the world’s most brilliant minds comes with its problems.  I constantly see nonsense.  Nonstop.  Every day.  Here’s an example from a little Forbe’s apologia about Tiger Woods:

Golfing legend Tiger Woods was found in his car, obviously impaired. But when he cooperated with police and took two Breathalizer tests, he verified his statement that he was not drunk but had been unwittingly impaired by pain killers he was taking for sports injuries.

The problem is that the breathalizer verified he had not been drinking, but it did not verify he “unwittingly” got loaded on drugs, or that he was taking them “for sports injuries.”

Let me tell you, dear readers, I see such shoddy thinking/writing/speech every day.  All day long.  It’s trying, it truly is.

#AskAlan:  This is a good deal, I guess.  I’ve said both kind and unkind words about Alan Shipnunk in the past.  More unkind than kind, I’d say, but nevertheless, it’s good to see he’s started a Mailbag type feature.  In looking through old ones, I found this nice bit, in response to a question about a bar fight between Chamblee and Poulter:

I can see it now, both of them swinging their purses and grasping for handfuls of hair. I’m taking Poults in this slapfest, mostly because Brandel would be so worried about protecting his TV face he’d surely run out the back door in an act of capitulation.

Interesting to see the golf media eating their own.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Memorial/Tiger Friday Live Blog

  1. HennyB says:

    Lanny,
    I agree with you. Releasing these videos is not necessary. The story alone is humiliating. No need to rub salt in the wound.
    I could be wrong, but I cant help but think that in some way shape or form the media will pivot from Woods being high as a kite on pills to blaming the opioid epidemic that is plaguing this country. It doesn’t matter if the medication is legal, the guy is stoned out of his mind and the fact that the guy got behind the wheel in that state of mind is inexcusable. Forgive me for being so cynical but I’m not ready to believe that the golf media has turned over a new leaf. Who knows they blame his doctor for prescribing the medication. I understand Notah Begay is his friend but even he was reluctant to admit that Tiger did something wrong and that he needs to take responsibility for his actions. I got the impression it was the same old adage “Well it wasn’t me, it was the drugs.”

    • lannyh says:

      You’re probably right. It will be interesting to see how things are viewed a year or two hence — especially if he gets back to playing.

  2. lannyh says:

    I can’t pull against Dufner, but, dang, there are a lot of my favorites in the top few. More good stuff from Jack today. I think he’s really relaxed with Gannon and Faldo. Or maybe he’s relaxed because he’s finally convinced his record will remain the rest of his days. If you think about it, if Woods hadn’t come along with all the wild predictions, Jack’s 18 would not have kept him in the news the way it did.

    I’ve got a few things to mention tomorrow, if I don’t forget. Jack’s comments about knees today. And his comment to Sir Nick about “you were big enough to” which I think said more than most would have realized. Also, I’ll discuss margarine and back injuries. I won’t forget… if I remember I made notes here…

Leave a Reply

