Tiger Now Chasing John Daly

Having given up on catching Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods has switched his focus to catching John Daly.

My first thought was “drunk driving,” but upon reflection, considering his back problems, I would suspect pharmaceutical opioids.  That’s a real problem in the U.S. these days.  Also, I just looked at his mug shot (we will not post the photo here; doing so seems like a cheap shot) and I don’t see any red whatsoever in his eyes.  I know nothing about opioids, but I do know alcohol makes a person’s eyes red.

Wow.  Stephen A. Smith completely agrees with my longtime criticism about Woods.  Brutal.  Smith has always been one of the few sports analysts who was not afraid of the Tiger Woods PR machine.

…the guy was essentially living the life of a complete phony and got exposed…  you went about the business of making yourself into a billionaire because you marketed yourself as the wholesome family guy…  [the image] was meticulously and carefully crafted to manipulate the masses…  selling us something that was the complete antithesis of how he was living…  everyone sees you for the phony you are…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Tiger Now Chasing John Daly

  1. ThreeWiggleExpert says:

    He may be a phony, and he will never catch Jack….but that doesn’t take away from the fact that he had the single best 10 year run, EVER.

    • ThreeWiggleExpert says:

      To clarify, he will never catch Jack’s Majors total…..he passed him on total wins.

      • lannyh says:

        I hope YOU aren’t planning on driving any time soon.

      • ThreeWiggleExpert says:

        Last I checked 79 is greater than 73.

      • lannyh says:

        Drink some strong coffee. You’re rambling.

      • ThreeWiggleExpert says:

        Lanny, this is where you struggle with reality. Jack has the majors record, and will likely have it for all time…but that doesn’t change that fact that Tiger won more tournaments, overall (79>73).

        It’s not unlike saying Brad Johnson was a better QB than Dan Marino because Brad has a ring.

      • lannyh says:

        No one said he didn’t have more wins. But Sam Snead has the most wins of any golfer, and no one puts him in the Top Five. Get a grip, brother!

    • ThreeWiggleExpert says:

      I was fully expecting that rebuttal of Sam Snead because you are exactly right. Slammin’ Sammy has the total wins record of 82. But it seems that nobody cares about that….it’s all about Jack’s 14 Majors. Tiger is an enigma, he has more major wins than Sam but less Majors than Jack. I guess that puts those guys in the top 3 all time.

      • lannyh says:

        Well, 18, but you know that. Thing is, Hogan won something like 8 of 11 majors. Byron Nelson won 11 tourneys in a row. That’s some heavy lifting. Snead and Woods winning a bunch of tournaments is fantastic, and those totals put them in the Hall of Fame, along with Mickelson and Couples and the rest, right?

        And it must be said, like it or not, there is a little something called “the debit column,” and Woods has a lot of entries in that one. Anyway, I don’t think there is any need to re-litigate this.

        Don’t blame me for this latest incident; I’m just the messenger. I can’t wait to see how Golf Channel covers it.

      • ThreeWiggleExpert says:

        Yes, I mis-typed. It is 18 majors for Jack.

        Overall, I’m with you. This incident is the proverbial nail in Tiger’s coffin.

  2. TM says:

    Tiger gets arrested for drivig while black and Lanny H ater cheers. Everyone knows why.

    • lannyh says:

      Oh, come one. First off, I wasn’t cheering. This is pretty much an non-event in that Woods’s star faded many years ago. Second, DWB? Yeah, right. That’s logical. Third, the insinuation that I’m racist — I assume that was your point — could not be more asinine.

  3. lannyh says:

    Flash forward to the 2018 Masters… Woods making jokes about Sergio’s choice for the Champions Dinner? How much lower can Woods go? We’re getting into “Requiem for a Heavyweight” territory.

    I wonder if Sergio winning the Masters pushed him over the edge. It could not have been easy watching Jordan nearly get his second Colonial win, the point being that Woods never won on a shotmakers course like Riviera or Colonial.

    Or maybe it’s Vijay’s legal case. Word is that a lot of hidden PGA suspension information might become public.

    Or maybe Tiger just got fed up with Brandel Chamblee mentioning his name every five minutes.

  4. Kris says:

    Stephen A Smith exemplifying the adage that a stopped clock is right twice a day. There are indications that Tiger’s abused Ambien and painkillers in the past. If he ended up in a hospital with an overdose I’d feel bad for him, but anybody selfish and dumb enough to drive under the influence doesn’t deserve anything but hate.

    Tiger dug an even deeper hole saying alcohol wasn’t involved after refusing to do a breathalyzer and saying he “understands the severity of his actions” while simultaneously blaming them on an “unexpected reaction to prescription medications”. The full police report and dash cam will not do him any favors. Paper Tiger’s best days are well behind him and he only has himself to blame.

    • lannyh says:

      I’m too modest to brag on myself, but I feel like I nailed it when I said he didn’t look drunk. There just wasn’t the red/bloodshot eyes that’s so common, it seems to me, in an inebriated person. But people react differently to things, I know.

      It’s hard to conjecture what is what. I’d guess that with his back problem, he has access to all kinds of pharmaceutical opioids. The dashcam will be interesting; if he went all Britt McHenry on the cops, or if he’s all slurry-speaking, it’s not going to be much fun for him.

    • lannyh says:

      Oh, I gotta take up for Stephen A. Smith. I stopped watching ESPN many years ago (with the exception of their live events, or related college football coverage), so I literally never watch those debate shows or Sports Center or any of that stuff. So the only reason I even know Stephen A. Smith is because of clips on YouTube having to do with Woods. And he’s always been a straight-shooter regarding Woods. He has complained many times that the media needed to cover the currently GOOD players instead of obsessing over Woods. Anyway, he might be awful all those other times, but I give him credit for swimming against the Woods tide.

      • Kris says:

        Good call, you were absolutely right. It doesn’t look like any footage has been released yet, and I’m not sure it will. The police report was fairly detailed and I don’t care to see video of Tiger behaving that way. Stephen A Smith generally takes the stance that is the most controversial with no regard for logic, so it’s nice that he’s been consistent in his criticism of Tiger Woods.

      • lannyh says:

        Just read the police report. One weird thing to me was they said he was dopey, etc., barely able to keep eyes open, but that he “agreed” to urine test, etc. You’d think a lawyer would say he was in no condition to grant assent.

        I heard that the video probably will be made public, but that lawyers usually say, prior to the court proceedings that the video could affect a potential jury pool, so it is withheld for some time.

        The first report I saw about the details of this didn’t say Woods incorrectly interpreted the request for a backward alphabet as a backward national anthem. The national anthem backward sounded hard. I tried it and it WAS pretty hard.

        Hey, didn’t Fake News also report Woods was “arrogant”? Sounded like he was very cooperative.

      • lannyh says:

        Oh, if it had been alcohol, I was going to draw a cartoon of Woods followed by a bunch of kids — captioned “I am Tiger Woods” — where the kids walking behind him were all swigging down whisky. I could have had them sleeping on their tricycles, etc.

Leave a Reply

