Crazy Ruling! Lexi penalized four shots during round! “Is this a joke?”

Ryu “Cinks” Lexi.


Playoff!!!

Tournament of the Year?


Compelling story.  Can’t turn away.  Reminiscent of ’86 with Jack in that fans can’t help but pull against Lexi’s rivals.


Bizarre.  Unprecedented.  Makes DJ’s sandtrap look like —  well, this is just as bad, and arguably worse.  Insanity.

Lexi asked, “Is this a joke?”

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Crazy Ruling! Lexi penalized four shots during round! “Is this a joke?”

  1. Kris says:

    Pardon my language, but that was some bull ass shit. She barely misplaced her ball after a long day of golf. I remember a few years ago Sergio sloppily marked his ball but the rules officials decided against penalizing him because his back was sore and he was trying not to step on Bill Haas’ line. It’s a shame they couldn’t have done the same for Lexi. It was incredibly suspicious that the email about the 3rd round infraction didn’t come until she had a healthy lead in the final round. It felt like deliberate sabotage. Lexi handled herself like a champion regardless of the outcome. I can’t wait until they get rid of this garbage tv viewer officiating.

    • lannyh says:

      The TV viewer stuff, in and of itself, doesn’t bother me. But there needs to be some kind of statute of limitations or something. Twelve holes into round four, they ding her for something in round three the prior day?

      I will say this: That was odd how she marked it. It was almost like she was moving it to the side of a flaw in the green. If she had lifted the ball higher, it would not have been so noticeable. Also the camera angle was such that it was noticeable. Personally, I think players are loose with marks all the time. I am not a fan of marking balls anyway. Marking it and moving the ball to make a drawn line line up? Talk about unnecessarily slowing down the game. When I play, I never mark my ball unless I have to. If your ball is in a fairway divot, tough luck. If your (artificially-drawn) lineup mark on the green is not lined up, pick it up, clean it, let your caddy wash, shine, and wax it, and that’s a-okay.

      Anyway, I agree that this was a fiasco, but I don’t mind TV callers per se. But it should probably be limited until start of next round. I mean, what if I went back and found something on Stewart Cink at the 2009 British Open. Is it too late?

      • Aussie53 says:

        Thought it was strange to mark a 1 foot putt ? looking at the replay it is obvious she moved it to another spot, but why ? spike mark perhaps, still I think if you start the next round then no penalty can be assessed.

      • lannyh says:

        Agree; agree; that’s my best guess, too; agree.

    • lannyh says:

      I should add I’m not OPPOSED to eliminating it, either. In fact, I suppose I lean that way. We can’t call in infractions in any other sport I can think of, and it doesn’t bother me. Announcers on football games are forever saying, “Oh, talk about holding. He almost tackled him. He got away with one there.” And it might be on a key, game-changing play. All that comes of it is water-cooler debate.

      The more I think about it, the more I think they should eliminate it. The rules are pretty odd. Like the one about where the ball can be dropped if it does (or doesn’t) pass over dry land. Like a guy can tell from 200 yards away on a hilly course with the ball 50 feet in the air. I seem to remember Vijay in a close one like that in the past that generated a lot of debate. The truth is, you might as well interpret them all in your favor. No one really knows, so why not if it’s close at all?

  2. ThreeWiggleExpert says:

    That WAS insane.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s