Los Angeles Open Sunday Semi Live Blog

11:40 am Update

Jordan doubles the very next hole.  Wake me when this stinker is over.  Excuse me for not caring if DJ beats Tringale and Perez.  Not exactly edge-of-your-seat golf.  I called this one on Friday:

Although, there’s always the chance the other wave will not be able to play until the storm passes completely — and will be able to throw darts at soggy greens in good conditions.

11:11 am Update

Jordan birdies the par-3 sixth just when I was about to give up on golf for the day.  He started the day by three-putting the par-5 first hole, parring rather than birdieing, giving most of the field a stroke.  They are playing the ball down all day, so maybe the leaders will get some mud balls.

Morning Drive is even more insipid than I remembered from past years.  This happy-slappy morning stuff just ain’t my cup of tea.  I’d far rather be seeing live action.  I turned it off pretty quickly.  Live action starts at the top of the hour.

8:30 am Update

Looks like live coverage will coincide with Morning Drive, which leads into Pregame, so at least we’ll have live look-in at a minimum.  I can’t complain too much.

Sunrise

Looking over the leaderboard, there is a threat of a snoozer today.  By that I mean big fan favorites are trailing quite a number of players.  Vegas, Rodgers, Lahiri, Grace, and Schniederjans might be interesting to me, but not to the average television-viewing fan.  DJ is being pushed by the media, but he’s never going to be an Arnie/Jack/Rory/Jordan type.

Which is fine.  I realized yesterday as DJ holed the putts on Nos. 17 and 18 that there is something I do like about him.  (And I’ve never disliked him; it has always been more of a not-care-one-way-or-the-other.)  What I like about DJ is how NON-reactive he is.  He makes a putt, he misses a putt — the reaction is the same.  He must not have gotten the memo about the excitement generated by fist pumping and melodramatic facial grimaces.  The golf media must hate that.  (I like the outspoken Pat Perez, but after missing a putt yesterday, he grimaced, raised his putter to his shoulder, and posed for five to ten seconds.  Come on, you’ve been playing serious golf for 30 years.  You’re not twelve years old any more.)

Also annoying about DJ, though not his fault: The media pushes the “athlete” meme for DJ, reminiscent of early Rickie Fowler never being mentioned without “dirt bike” or “action sports” or “daredevil.”  I burn out quickly on forced, awkward media taggings.

To wrap this up…  Go, Jordan!

By the way, it was pretty lame last night for Golf Channel not to cover the third round live action.  I can understand logistics playing a role (a long day coming today), but they could have at least done some kind of panel “radio coverage,” like they do on the pregame.  Oh, well.  I was surprised and disappointed, although maybe I should not have been.  I will say this: I’ll be very disappointed if they treat today as any normal Sunday.  I want coverage of the third round.  As I said above, the fourth round might be a total snoozer.

Having said that, they might used this “opportunity” to get fourteen more people to sign up for “live streaming coverage” and stiff us on coverage.  I don’t know.  If I had to bet, I’d bet on being disappointed.  But who knows.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Los Angeles Open Sunday Semi Live Blog

  1. Jaybird77 says:

    Seems once upon a time people bashed the Tiger only crowd and now it seems someone has gone to a Spieth only rooting interest.

    • lannyh says:

      Not sure how not giving a shit about any of the golfers in contention today equates to “Jordan Only,” but whatever. I know how much you love to insult and criticize.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        It’s not that difficult. You basically said, “Jordan isn’t in contention so wake me up when this is over”.

      • lannyh says:

        Again, I know you just want to insult and complain, but clearly that’s not at all what I wrote. You’re not one to let logic and actual words get in the way of belittling someone.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        It’s not meant as complaining or insulting. It’s simply pointing out that you seem to be doing the same things you accuse others of doing.

      • lannyh says:

        But to say it “seems like” when it seems nothing of the sort is bullying, plain and simple.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        No, saying “seems like” is making an observation….not bullying. But, you can call it what you like.

        I’ve wasted more than enough time on this shit-site, so enjoy your opinions and bullying of people who don’t agree with you. You are definitely cut from the same cloth as Trump.

      • lannyh says:

        Yes, from your constant criticisms, I had also concluded this website was not a good fit for you. Good luck with Golf Channel or wherever else you might land.

  2. Jaybird77 says:

    This on the course segment by Microsoft Cloud is an absolute joke. Whoever came up with this idea should be fired.

  3. Kris says:

    DJ is running away with it and Sergio is playing like garbage. That’s why I’ve been watching nascar all day, lol. My boy Junebug is going to make the injury comeback Tiger couldn’t manage. It’s not a fair comparison, but it still makes me happy to say it.

    • lannyh says:

      I don’t know who or what Junebug is, but it’s gotta be better than the golf tourney.

      Am I missing the Daytona 500? I hope not.

      • Kris says:

        I’m being silly. I’m talking about Dale Earnhardt Jr. He was out half of last year with a concussion and he was having so much trouble recovering that considered retiring. There was a little race for last year’s pole winners this morning (The Clash) and Daytona 500 qualifying is going on right now. The Daytona 500 is next Sunday at 1pm.

      • lannyh says:

        I had to look it up. I saw a tweet he made about a dog and thought the dog was Junebug, until I realized the tweet was from the dog’s perspective.

        Thanks for the heads-up. I knew the Nascar “Super Bowl” starts the season in February, and it’s nearly March.

      • Kris says:

        He’s got a pomeranian named Junebug, but Dale’s nickname is Junebug, too. Chase Elliot got the pole and Dale Jr will start second. Not bad. The rest of the qualifying spots don’t matter because it only tells you how people line up for the duel races on Thursday night. That’s where the final lineup comes from. I’m sorry, nascar is far more interesting today.

      • lannyh says:

        Danika will be my choice.

      • Kris says:

        Dream the impossible dream.

  4. lannyh says:

    The rain has turned Riviera into Firestone. They should have just canceled this event. I may never watch golf again.

  5. Kris says:

    Congratulations to Dustin Johnson on his anticlimactic win and his new status as number 1 in the world. And Paulina’s pregnancy.

    • lannyh says:

      Yeah. Can’t take anything away from DJ. He totally earned it, and he had plenty of chances to lose his determination (Graeme McDowell’s win at Pebble in 2010, and Spieth’s U.S. Open win in Washington state a couple years ago). I really do admire his calm demeanor. It’s refreshing after what so often looked like staged histrionics of certain other players. Not long ago, it looked like Rory and Jordan’s world, and it turned into Jason and DJ’s.

      One thing about DJ going to #1. It wasn’t this week’s performance that earned it. It was the great results leading up to this. A win is a win, but not only did he get the better side of the draw, but he has the game for wet conditions which reduces risk in the risk/reward equation.

      But, once again, his laid-back attitude is very refreshing in a world where athletes in almost every sport too often act like fools. (Think “sack dances” in the NFL, for one example.)

Leave a Reply

