Los Angeles Open Saturday Semi Live Blog

7:20 pm Update

Jordan to tee off ten minutes before sunset.  He might get two holes in.  DJ tees off twenty minutes after sunset, so I guess he’ll play the full 36 tomorrow.  (I think daylight lasts about 20 minutes after sunset.)

7:00 pm Update

Tringale!

What a cool shot!  Visually and, especially, aurally.  The ball on the flagstick and the crowd reaction both.

So 71 players made the cut.   No doubt that’s a sweet number for a time-constrained event.

Gannon and Duval tie Gannon and Faldo for the best broadcast team in golf.  Third place by a hair goes to Nantz and Faldo.  Fourth place is so far back, it’s not worth thinking about.  It’s depressing that NBC now takes over the Tour until the Masters.  At least we won’t have that 30-minute blackout at the switchover.  (By the way, today’s CBS basketball game ran around 12 minutes late — surprise, surprise.  At least there wasn’t OT.  I literally couldn’t watch, though.  The florescent green jerseys of Baylor were blinding.  Surely they are not as distracting in real life as they are on television.)

2:45 pm Update

Fifteen minutes until CBS golf is scheduled.  However, there are 7-1/2 minutes left in the basketball game.  It’s a #3 team vs a #4 team, and the game is close.  Watch for at least a ten minute runover, with the possibility of overtime.  I’ll be actively pulling for whichever team is leading to extend their lead.  I sure hope GC carries the live action to conclusion tonight.  This the L.A. Open, for crying out loud.

2:00 pm Update

Weird watching these guys with such easy conditions in contrast to what Jordan had to play through yesterday.  I find my main rooting interest is in DJ having a bad day.  Or anyone else at the top of the scoreboard.  These guys, because of how the weather played out, get three or four strokes versus the other side of the field.

10:15 am Update

Play to resume at 9am west coast/noon eastern.

8:20 am

Newspaper Compares Woods to Dying Sinatra!

In many ways [Tiger Woods] reminds me of going to a Frank Sinatra concert just a few years before the legendary singer died. Observing the chairman of the board embarrass himself in not being able to remember the words to his own songs was hard to witness.

My, how times have changed.  Link.

Sunrise

Gary Player on Tiger Woods: “Do I think he’ll go past Nicklaus in majors? I don’t think so.”

It strikes me as foolish for Mr. Player to go out on a limb like this.  What’s to be gained?  He can forget about ever appearing on Golf Channel again.

Butch Harmon, not to be outdone, came up with his own ludicrous comment about Tiger: “Are we ever going to see him playing at the heights he did back in the early 2000s? Probably not.”

What the heck is going on?  First we hear Tiger won’t catch Jack.  Then we hear Tiger won’t be as good again as when he was 24 years old?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Los Angeles Open Saturday Semi Live Blog

  1. the amazing sports-realist says:

    Well I could explain to you how the MSM works when it comes to Eldrick and politics, but you’d claim, inaccurately, that’s it’s a circle jerk or whatever attempted cutdown you’ve tried to make…smh.

    I mean cmon lanny(if this is really you), the golf channel has TOLD you that Eldrick NEVER took PED’s, so you should believe them, and say that anything YOU’VE written or reported about Eldrick taking steroids/ped’s is a HOAX….Because if MSM reports something, it’s got to be true…RIGHT??????

    • the amazing sports-realist says:

      So with that said, Eldrick’s body is breaking down, um, just because, and NOT because he took years of ped’s and steroids from his Canadian buddy..And not because his NATURAL body is about 160 lbs, and with the long term steroid use has STARTED to break down his BONE structure….Couldn’t be any of that, so we must keep searching, since that is just a HOAX, the MSM said so…..Now I’m off to watch FINDING BIGFOOT. I’m sure they’ll find him this episode, they promised…..

    • lannyh says:

      Dude, get a grip. You come on here two or three days in a week pushing the hoax story that Hillary Clinton is a pedophile. You expect people to slap you on the back and say, “Great comment”?

      If you are looking for validation, there are a thousand right wing political websites that would love to have your comments. As for this website, we rather like logic.

      By the way, for you to compare the hundreds of hours of hard work and research I’ve done (and many others who comment here) about Tiger Woods and PEDs to Pizzagate is incredibly insulting.

      I don’t mind people speaking their minds here. I encourage it. But I don’t want it to become a comment vomitorium like so many other Internet websites. I’ve said many times, the only requirement for posting here is INTELLIGENCE. Posting nonsense about debunked conspiracy theories is not a show of intelligence, and reflects poorly on this website.

      As an example, we do not allow commenters to use the “cute” spelling of Woods’s name as “Tigger.” We consider that racist — because it is — so we don’t allow it. The mainstream websites do. Why? Their goal is strictly money, and they don’t want to lose the commenters.

      The only goal for THIS website is to (1) allow me to write things the mainstream golf media was censoring and (2) allow other golf fans to do the same.

      • the amazing sports-realist says:

        Nowhere did I directly say that Hillary Clinton is a pedophile…Try and read next time…I DID say that both Clinton’s have ties both to being homosexual(as does Dennis Hastert who was a speaker of the house)…….Y
        You were the one pushing TRUMP in almost every other article during the election were you not???????????? Last I checked Trump has little to do with GOLF, but it was just FINE for YOU to put your narrative on him ect with all those articles and NOT on GOLF……Or now have you just become a total hypocrite to what people can write here? …YOU were doing the TRUMP thing…SO you can’t go back into your GOLFING SHELL and pretend you didn’t? ….Cmon lanny….

        All I wrote was “they will literally cover up/gloss over murder(alot of politicians and celebrities), pedophilia(pizzagate), AND yes steroids/cheaters(tiger woods, barry bonds, Tiger Woods again, and on and on and on and on)”……
        My point was our beloved media COVERS STUFF UP…….If you don’t agree with it, that you should censor me like those OTHER golf sites that you supposedly LOATHE, due to their censoring…….

      • lannyh says:

        Gee, I’m sorry. I must have missed the subtle nuances of your fascinating commentary on Pizzagate.

  2. the amazing sports-realist says:

    Lanny if you think pizzagate is debunked, then you need to do MORE research.

    • lannyh says:

      Yeah, I’ll do that. Right after I research how 9/11 was an inside job and how Obama was born in Kenya.

      • the amazing sports-realist says:

        Ok, where are you basing your info that is is debunked? wiki, fox, cnn? I’m curious to know….Again, if you did ALL this research on Eldrick, then why are you SO quick to dismiss the OBVIOUS backroom attempt at damage control by the msm on this scandal that would rock washington dc?

      • lannyh says:

        You have become a tedious bore. This is a GOLF website.

  3. the amazing sports-realist says:

    Oh ok, so how bout all those TRUMP articles you hypocrite??????? huh? were those all about golf then? no….If you are lanny, you have changed for the worse….

  4. Kris says:

    Tiger’s career is over and everyone except Tiger is finally ready to admit it. At this point he should be trying to make sure he’s not going to end up in a wheelchair, not trying to play the Masters. That retirement article was great.

    It’s looking like they’re going to be able to play all 4 rounds at Riviera. That is if they let them play until dark and don’t stop them at 3pm west coast time because that’s when TV coverage ends. Am I remembering wrong, or has that happened before?

    • lannyh says:

      It does have a tinge of deja vu now that you mention it.

      Yeah, if I’m Woods, priority one is my longterm health. Nothing else is even close. I’m wondering if the commitment to play 4 of 5 wasn’t something worked out between Steinberg, Woods, and sponsors. A fish or cut bait type thing, to see what Woods had left.

      • Kris says:

        I’m sure they didn’t expect Tiger to play all 4 rounds in 4 out of 5 weeks, but I’m sure they expected more than 3 rounds and a WD from a press conference. I’m curious to see what the cutting bait process is going to look like.

        I did some sleuthing and found that the 3rd round is expected to begin around 4pm west coast time and go until dark. If a secondary cut is needed there will be a Monday finish. Otherwise, they believe it is possible to finish the tournament on Sunday in prime time.

      • lannyh says:

        Now I will pull for there not to be a secondary cut. This gets complicated. I’m glad to see DJ and the rest are not going as low as I expected. Also glad to see Anirban in the mix. If not, Jordan, then Anirban or Sam Saunders.

      • Kris says:

        The leaderboard is really bunched. Right now there’s only 7 shots between the lead and the cut line. It’s anybody’s game and there are a lot of interesting folks only 2 or 3 shots back.

      • lannyh says:

        DJ took advantage of the course conditions after all. Oh, well. Jordan just five back at the halfway point. T10, I believe.

      • lannyh says:

        73 inside the cut line right now, but if four of those drop outside, it’s going to let a lot of people in. Meaning there would be need for a secondary cut.

    • Kris says:

      Jordan’s definitely still in it even on the bad side of the draw. Who knows if Dustin will hang on in the back half. I wouldn’t mind if he won, though. He’s putting pretty good and I’ve liked him ever since he got out of rehab and became a dad. I don’t think there’s enough people left on the course to move the cut line. I’d put all my money on a Sunday finish.

      • lannyh says:

        One thing about Jordan and the luck of the draw… He certainly got the luck of a bounce yesterday on a par-3. The ball went long and left then kicked back toward the hole and rolled close enough for him to sink a birdie putt. So if DJ got three strokes today from mild weather, Jordan got one from a lucky bounce.

  5. Jaybird77 says:

    TW won 5 times in 2013 and then was injured the last 3 years so I was willing to give him a chance to get right and back on the course. Over that time he’s had 3 back surgeries and a 17 month layoff only to play a measly 3 rounds before the health thing came back (pun intended).

    Whether it’s football, baseball, basketball, or golf, I don’t like seeing athletes, especially the great ones, embarrass themselves.

    As a result, the media needs to let him be and worry about the guys that are playing.

    • lannyh says:

      Yeah, and as someone else said — maybe a lot of someones — you aren’t “coming back too soon” after you sit out a year-and-a-half.

      In golf, you don’t have to ever really retire, though. Look at the Masters winners. They go from “past champ” to “ceremonial player” without anyone saying a word. Everyone just realizes it after a couple of badly missed cuts. Crenshaw at his last Masters is about as close to an official retirement as it gets.

      Did Charlie Rymer retire? I don’t know, but I do know he’s gearing up for a Senior Tour campaign next year!

      • Jaybird77 says:

        Yep, I’m sure TW will eventually play again, as golf is generally a game you can play your entire life, but this seems to officially be the official end of TW and his ability to compete for W’s.

        Funny you mention Charlie. I was just thinking I don’t think I’ve seen Kelly at all this year. Maybe she’s gone?

      • lannyh says:

        I didn’t watch anything but the live coverage last year. This year, I’ve seen a little of the other stuff, but not a ton. I have not seen Kelly, but I don’t know her status. I did notice Justin Leonard (I’m pretty sure that’s who it was) on the set a couple of days.

  6. Jaybird77 says:

    I said it on another article but I’ll say it again. When DD came on to the GC coverage I thought he was great. So, I’m glad to see him getting some time in the announcers booth!

    • lannyh says:

      I think the broadcast booth suits him better than those studio panels. He gets lost in the clutter there too often.

      I thought GC would cover Jordan’s resumption live tonight. Looking like I was wrong. Oh, well.

Leave a Reply

