Don’t Marry Her, Rory, Marry Me!

Dear Rory,

I just read your comments regarding the Olympics and, well… I love you, man:

“I don’t feel like I’ve let the game down at all. I didn’t get into golf to try and grow the game. I got into golf to win championships and win major championships, and all of a sudden you get to this point and there is a responsibility on you to grow the game, and I get that.

“But at the same time that’s not the reason that I got into golf. I got into golf to win. I didn’t get into golf to get other people into the game.

“I get where different people come from and different people have different opinions. But I’m very happy with the decision that I’ve made and I have no regrets about it.

“I’ll probably watch the Olympics, but I’m not sure golf will be one of the events I watch.”

Asked what events he will take in, the 27-year-old offered a final dig: “Probably the events like track and field, swimming, diving – the stuff that matters.

It’s not too late to reconsider your marriage plans.

Regards,

Caitlanny H

……..

Rory is already the first Olympics hero of the 2016 Summer games.  The Stuff That Matters.  Let’s keep the Olympics focus where it belongs.  Funny how Rory wound up being the one fighting to restore Olympics purity.

Michael Phelps doesn’t belong in Rae’s Creek, and golf doesn’t belong in the Olympics.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Don’t Marry Her, Rory, Marry Me!

  1. Ken says:

    Caitlanny!

    Awesome. Yeah I love his dig about the sports that actaully matter.

    • lannyh says:

      I’ve got Golf Channel on and they are replaying Rory. His comments about drug testing were great, too! He pretty much summed up, accurately, the role PEDs could play in golf. Even pointed out, “I could be taking HGH and our testing would not catch it.”

      I think it was Rosaforte who said of Spieth, “This is something he’s going to have to live with, and it won’t go away.” Oh, yeah, right. When Jordan is is 80 years old and thinking about 2016, his main regret will be that he didn’t play in a weak exhibition in Rio rather than the two water balls at No. 12.

      Golf Channel is really in a panic about the Big Three skipping their precious Golf Olympics. Couldn’t happen to a nicer group of talking heads. I wonder if Chamblee has blocked Rory, Jordan, and Jason on Twitter; he’s very thin-skinned.

  2. Brian Penn says:

    Awesomely candid. Love it. But I think Adam Scott was the first to admit that the Olympics didn’t matter and not lean on Zika, like most others. That’s okay, we can read between everyone’s lines.

    Thanks,

    Brian

  3. DanishDude says:

    Zach Johnson had some very thoughtful and honest comments as well:

    Q. You touched on the Olympics. I’ll just ask the question: As we get ready to set the field sort of today and who is going and who’s not going. How much, with all the guys that have pulled out, is that going to hurt the return to golf in Rio? Also, where does, in your mind, where is the Olympics going to — if golf stays in the Olympics, where is the Olympics going to be in the hierarchy of majors and Ryder Cups? And finally, anything you’d like to change with the schedule going forward to 2020 to make things better than they were this year?
    ZACH JOHNSON: Yeah, it’s hard to really say because it is the first year it’s come back in over a century, right? Almost a century.

    MIKE WOODCOCK: 112 years.

    ZACH JOHNSON: So 1904. So it’s hard to say. To put it into words where it will fall in the hierarchy, only time will tell. It’s kind of like how we implemented the FedExCup. How’s that going to work? Will it fit in? Is there motivation? Is there going to be any tradition? And it’s still yet to be seen. I mean, the Olympics to me it’s certainly the premier event when it comes to a lot of different sports. I think a lot of fans have passions for certain sports. However, it’s not like you’re setting your DVR to catch the local archery tournament or diving or swimming.

    My point in saying that is every four years that’s when I don’t miss it. To me those sports should be at the forefront, wrestling, all those sports that just don’t get the recognition that I’d say the mainstream sports get. Those athletes that train, essentially, for three-plus years for that one opportunity and one week. If anything, I’ve been watching the trials in the States, and it’s sad seeing the ones that don’t make the teams because they’ve put, essentially a lot of them are only like 16 years old, but three years of work into that one week. But that’s also the beauty of it, too. That’s what attracts those stories or attracts viewership and fans.

    To me, I don’t know if golf — obviously, it has its place in the Olympics now. I don’t know if personally it needs to be in there, maybe is the right way to say it. We’re relevant 24/7, 365, for the most part, if that’s your barometer and criteria, relevancy. Specifically the athletes that play this game are relevant a lot of the year. My guess is fans are not going to — well, I shouldn’t say that. I think fans really look forward to the majors and certainly the cups, the Ryder Cup in particular. I know as a player, those are my motivations. I didn’t dream of winning a gold medal in golf as a kid. It wasn’t an option. But if it was, I don’t know. There is so much that goes into that. I don’t have any idea.

    Yeah, I don’t know. I love the athletes and sports that just don’t get the recognition like the other sports do. Again, you can argue basketball, and shoot, even soccer. Do they really need to be in there? My guess is they want a World Cup before they want a gold medal. They’d want an NBA championship before they want a gold medal. I would assume. Maybe bad assumptions, but a lot of basketball players are not playing. They’re tired right now. That’s a very valid excuse because of what they’ve put in the entire year for their team.

    So, it’s unfortunate, but it’s just the way it is. It seems to me like looking on social media, looking at stories, vignettes, documentaries on ESPN or any channel for whatever, NBC, you can see the passion for the Olympics is there, pretty much regardless of any sport, but especially the ones that are just not mainstream, and I love that. That’s what you want to see.

    I don’t know if the fields going to be — I mean, we’re seeing a lot of dropouts. We maybe will see some more. I don’t know the criteria or timeline on that. But I get it. It’s unfortunate in that regard, but it’s also where we are right now. Hopefully it doesn’t detract away from anything else at the Olympics.

    Q. What about the schedule?
    ZACH JOHNSON: Well, I don’t know. That’s the thing, it’s the Summer Olympics, right? So personally, I don’t like it, the fact that it jumbles everything together. There’s not many positives for us. It’s really hard to navigate when you have major after major after major and very little time off. If I was 23 I’d maybe think differently. It may not be that big of a deal, but I’m 40. So that’s just my opinion.

    I think we have a pretty awesome incentive at the end of the year and something that’s growing in the FedExCup, too. And then a week later is the Ryder Cup. I mean, no offense to the Olympics but I’d rather be on the Ryder Cup team personally. That’s just as an athlete and as a golfer, as an American golfer, I have that opportunity and that’s what I would rather. I’d rather be on the Ryder Cup team and try to help our nation out there. But that’s just me.

  4. Jaybird77 says:

    I have no problem with what Rory said. But, whether or not he got into golf to help grow the game, he is in golf now and as a professional, televised, golfer, whether he likes it or not, part of what he does (i.e. win) helps to grow the game.

    Now, I’m not saying he should have gone to the Olympics simply to help promote golf, because Golf really shouldn’t be in the Olympics in the first place. But the way he walks and talks and plays golf and signs autographs etc, serves to promote the game of golf.

    • lannyh says:

      Grow the game organically. By chasing Jack. A glorified Tavistock is a load of crap. Rory is an independent contractor. Outside of Nike Spring, Rory has been nothing but an asset. No cursing, rudeness, histrionics.

  5. Jaybird77 says:

    I have to say, I find myself a bit disappointed in Jordan for deciding to skip John Deere just because it’s the same week as the Olympics, and he bailed on that so, for whatever reason he feels it’s “not right” to play in the John Deere.

    He didn’t want to play in Rio because it’s “not safe”. Why should that prevent him from playing the John Deere in Illinois?

Leave a Reply

