Sunday Semi Live: Rory, Jordan, Bud — the dream continues

Evening Wrap:

Great day for golf.  Rory won the Irish Open today.  Yesterday Man Utd won the FA Cup.  The Byron Nelson didn’t go my way, but it was a competitive event, and it’s always good to see Sergio get a win.  Also, two of my personal favorites had great T-4 outings:  Bud Cauley and Spencer Levin.  The bad news on those T-4’s…..   they were six-way T-4’s.

A good week for golf, though, and one that will help remove some of the Mickelson stench.

Blue Shirts:

Between every player deciding to wear a blue shirt and GC’s ADD coverage, it’s rather hard to follow this event.

Afternoon Begins:

After Rory’s win of Ireland’s biggest event, can Jordan win Texas’s biggest event?  He is on the first tee as I type.  (The No. 1 tee box at Las Colinas looks like the Sahara Desert.  After this year, only two more Byron Nelsons will be played at this TPC venue.  I’m sad because I know thus course inside out, but also glad because the next course is almost assuredly going to be a vast improvement.)

Jordan loses it left.  Not an auspicious start.

*****

[Note: Here’s a great Euro live blog to follow the Irish Open.]

Soapbox Time:

Folks, I realized something about myself today.  I get more annoyance from incompetence than I do joy from competence.  Perhaps the following will explain what I mean.

  • Yesterday, Golf Channel announced on air that they would be live streaming the conclusion of the Irish Open.  I went to their website and tried all the likely links.  I kept getting a stream of the Byron Nelson, which was already on television.  I thought to check their Twitter account and found a working link there.  After wasting about ten minutes.
  • The link came up.  Great.  I closed the stream while I changed PCs.  I brought the stream back up, via the Twitter link.  I get an equipment ad, then a message that the stream would be available shortly.  Repeated attempts brought the same results.  I tried again thirty minutes later and the stream was working again.
  • I was up early this morning as Rory teed off.  I feel asleep around hole No. 6.  I slept for hours.  I wake to find Rory on No. 9.  So, I wonder, is this live, was there a weather delay, or is this a replay of the back nine?  I go to a PC and pull up the leaderboard at the Euro Tour website.  It’s not working.
  • I do a google news search and eventually find an Irish website that has a fresh article about the tournament, explaining that there was indeed a weather delay.
  • Okay, cool.  I wasted some time, but now I know the coverage is live.  Like I said, cool!  After about fifteen minutes of watching, the AMERICAN announcers go into an extended discussion of Tiger Woods’s ball trajectory.  When I hear Woods’s name during a golf telecast, I think, “Change channels.  There is a cool political campaign going on right now.  No need to listen to these Clingers who can’t get over Tiger Woods.  Oh, and I should mention that shortly before that, GC ran a promo for the NCAA golf championships featuring famed inside trader and gambling addict Phil Mickelson.

So I left golf for Trump and Bernie and Hillary on cable news.  Someone let me know if Rory wins, please.  Or maybe the Euro Tour will have their leaderboard back up by then.

Irish Poetry:  Some American idiot screams, “Get in the hole!” as soon as Rory hits his tee shot on the par-3 third hole.  An Irishman responds matter-of-factly, “Get off the course.”  (And ETP stressed the point by mocking the American for acting a fool in Ireland.)

Predawn: Rory starts the final round with a three-shot lead.  Live coverage on Golf Channel.

Don’t blame ETP for the fact that we can’t see the hole on these putts on the No. 2 green.  That’s on Golf Channel and their @#$%$@* needless scroll showing LPGA and Senior Tour scores no one cares about and which are easily available online.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sunday Semi Live: Rory, Jordan, Bud — the dream continues

  1. Jaybird77 says:

    Willett in full collapse mode and Knox not looking like he’s going to have quite a enough.

    Interesting. Maybe, not, but it seems that we get Euro announcers for all players not named Rory. When it’s Rory’s turn, we get some commentary from the “American” announcers and a little less from the Euro’s.

    • lannyh says:

      Yeah, Blackmarr and Lerner were unwelcome additions, for sure. Nobilo can be good, but he can be bad, too. (I’m counting him as American today.) GC should have given us the standard ETP crew.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        Yes, I was counting Nobilo as “American” too since he does a lot of broadcasting state side.

  2. Sports-realist. says:

    So Rory wins the Irish, and probably Spieth wins the Byron, and then the golf channel will tell us how great they are, and have always admired and believed in them ect………Had they both lost, then it would have been all about that other guy that used to play a few years ago….Bringing up cut stats or women per state stats ect…Just in case the remaining TWO fair weather fans who are still watching, ONLY because their remote is broke and they are too lazy to get up to change the channel…

    • Jaybird77 says:

      I don’t know that I’d go as far as to say Jordan will “probably” win given he’s trailing by two with some other capable guys nipping at his heels. Rory was a little different ballgame as he actually had a 3/4 shot lead. Of course, everyone is obviously pulling for that outcome.

      • lannyh says:

        I concur. I would even go so far as to say Jordan probably will NOT win. His shots got very loose at the end of yesterday’s round, and Koepka is playing tough.

        Two things from yesterday… That No. 14 hole belongs on Sawgrass. Totally Mickey Mouse. It’s not the semi-island green that is bad, it’s the tee shot. I guess you could argue that it is a tee shot we should see more of on tour, but it’s an iron layup into a narrow chute where you hope to have an unobstructed view to the green.

        Then, this struck me as funny… I think it was yesterday, but it might have been Friday. I was watching at the very end of the telecast, and they did their Shot of the Day. It was Jordan’s opening tee shot. I thought, What did it do, bounce off a sprinkler head and hit the green? Not much to the tee shot at No. 1 at Los Colinas. He hits a nice shot down the middle, where it comes to rest ten yards behind someone who hit before him. Methinks they forgot about Shot of the Day until the last second.

    • lannyh says:

      You know, with Willett playing so poorly today, and with Rory changing the day’s story with a great shot at No. 16, I thought… man, why couldn’t Willett do this at Augusta!

      Nothing against Willett. He made for a great Masters story. Still, I was for Jordan.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        The weather wasn’t exactly good so I’d say that was the biggest factor for Willett being a non factor. Had perfect weather at Augusta which makes a big difference.

      • lannyh says:

        Note to self: If Rory and Willett are in final group Masters Sunday, do a rain dance.

  3. Jaybird77 says:

    If you didn’t see Rory’s final approach to 18, go find a replay.

  4. Kris says:

    As a Sergio Garcia fan, I must say in the words of Ice Cube, today was a good day. Sorry, I have nothing else to add to the discussion. Haha.

    • lannyh says:

      I thought you might like today’s result!

    • Jaybird77 says:

      The winner, in order of preference for me, starting the day, was Jordan, Koepka, then Serg. So, while the playoff was a bit of a let down as Koepka didn’t put up much of a fight with his double, I too was happy to see Serg get another W.

      Decided to take a little power nap once Koepka was up 3 so I’m glad I woke up in time to see the last few holes!

Leave a Reply

