Saturday Semi-Live Match Play

5:35 pm Update:  If Rory wins tomorrow, he’ll still be OWGR No. 3.  But the Big Three would be so close heading into Augusta you could throw a blanket over them.  If Jason beats Rory in the semis, he’ll take over No. 1.  He may already have done so just by making the semis; it’s too close for me to tell just eyeballing it.

4:25 pm Update: Rory Advances!!! (again)

Unfair Course?

Another event gamed to favor long hitters?  Look at the results of this morning’s action.  Thanks for ruining golf, Mister Finchem!

12:29 pm Update: Rory Advances!!!

Rory will face a Yank, Chris Kirk.  Other advancees as of now…  Kirk and Cabrera Bello.

9:00 am Update: Is there some reason GC is not showing this live coverage?  Unbelievable.  Rory is on the course, and we’re getting Morning Drive and pregame?  (If pregame means Brandel and/or Tilghman, I’m gone.)

Saturday Morn:  Just regained full server access.  I honestly don’t know the brackets.  Let me get up to speed.   I think we’ll have 8 matches this morning, 4 this afternoon, then semis and finals tomorrow morning and afternoon.

Saw a headline, though, “Big Three Make Sweet Sixteen.”  That’s sweet in and of itself.  I also know Reed blew out Mickelson, so he’s in the mix, too.  Okay, this morning….

First match goes off at 7:30 local, which is Central Daylight Time.  Only thirty minutes from now, as I type this.

 7:30 AM Bill Haas - Chris Kirk
 7:41 AM Rory McIlroy - Zach Johnson
 7:52 AM Matt Kuchar - Brooks Koepka
 8:03 AM Jason Day - Brandt Snedeker
 8:14 AM Byeong-Hun An - Rafa Cabrera Bello
 8:25 AM Patton Kizzire - Ryan Moore
 8:36 AM Dustin Johnson - Patrick Reed
 8:47 AM Jordan Spieth - Louis Oosthuizen

I actually have Morning Drive on right now.  I said I’d make exceptions for majors, so not much of a deviation from what I planned.  Hard to screw this day up, but Rymer and Williams are trying.  (Their forced high spirits are too much for this early in the day…)  I like the video of the players warming up in the dark on the range.

We could have Rory, Jordan, and Jason in the Final Four.  The other bracket though?  Pick from Kizzire, Moore, An, and Cabrerra-Bello.  I gotta pull for Moore or An out of that bracket.

I love early golf.  (Watching AND playing.  Dewsweepers play in 3-1/2 hours; late sleepers in 5-6 hours.)  Can’t beat this!  Win or go home starting before breakfast!  I’ve got rooting interests in most all of the matches this morning.  The Big Three, An, Moore, Reed, Kuch (I have nothing against Koepka, but I was far more of a fan when he was on the Euro Tour; seems like he is a now trendy cheering interest of the golf hipsters/tweeters).  I think I’ll go with Haas over Kirk, but Kirk is a good guy, too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saturday Semi-Live Match Play

  1. Kris says:

    No Americans in the final four! I’m pulling for Cool Hand Louis.

  2. Jaybird77 says:

    I wouldn’t say the course is unfair. Having seen it up close and personal, it’s a great test for everyone. Of course, like every course in the world, bombers who keep it down the middle always have an advantage. This is definitely not a course you can’t get sideways on.

    Very disappointed to see Day and Ror’s having to duke it out to see who goes to the final match. This is easily the match of Sunday. No matter the outcome the final match is going to be a let down. That’s not to say a Day or Ror’s Title won’t be great to see. They would then have the last 3 wins between them.

    • lannyh says:

      Good point about three wins between them. I agree re a little letdown, but on the other hand, it ensures one of them is in the finals. I’m for Rory, but if he loses, I’m fine being for Jason.

Leave a Reply

