The TRUMP: Sunday Semi-Live Blog

Final Update:  Trump With Huge Lead in Michigan!

A new NBC News/Wall Street Journal/Marist poll shows Donald Trump with a commanding 19-point lead heading into Tuesday’s Michigan primary.

12:25 pm Update: I left the room.  I return and immediately hear some kind of reference to Woods apropos of nothing.  I turn the TV off.  It’s more than an hour until Rory tees off.  I was just looking for something to play in the background while I do desk work; I’m not in the mood for Golf Channel pushing their %$#@%$# agenda.  Back to Mozart until Rory heads to the first tee.  Oh, by the way, I stumbled upon a book I’ve used to make a comparison to Woods.  I was never sure of the book, but I think I may have found it.  Stay tuned.

9:42 am Update:  Bowdo playing alone, playing quickly, and playing poorly.  +9 through 8 holes.  Looks like he’ll play every round in 80+.  By the way, keep an eye on Smylie Kaufman (T-10) this afternoon.  He is currently OWGR #65 and could stamp his ticket to the Dell Match Play with a strong finish.  Bowdo shot 81-80 to open and “made the cut.”  String some of those together and he’s better than Nicklaus, right?

By the way, we will give a one-year Lanny H Golf subscription to any and every reader who beats us with news of Mr. Trump’s plans for attending Doral today.

Dawn of a New Day

Rory and Donald Working to Make Golf Great Again

  • A win by Rory would be so good for golf.  Am I right?  And let me tell you, a win by Trump this November would be great for America.  It would be huge.
  • Rory almost certainly will pass Jason Day today to become OWGR #2.  He can’t catch Jordan, but, barring a spectacular final round by Jordan or a ruinous one by Rory, Rory will be within one-tournament “striking distance” of reclaiming the top spot.
  • I have a good feeling about Rory today.  I won’t deny it.  Rory will close the deal in front of the man who wrote “The Art of the Deal.”
  • Rickie Fowler had five birdies and twelve pars on Saturday.  Good round, right?  Well, the other hole was a quadruple bogey…
  • Doral is once again showing itself to be a course for long hitters.  I think No. 18 is an unfair hole in the vein of the dumbest hole Jordan Spieth has ever played.
  • I’ve been meaning to write about this for a while.  Donald Trump has said in recent speeches, “Once a choke artist, always a choke artist.”  I immediately sought to come up with exceptions disproving that declaration (as I am wont to do).  I almost immediately thought of Rory blowing his lead at Augusta only to triumphantly win at Congressional.  But did Rory choke at Augusta, or did he just have a bad round?  “Choke” is pretty subjective, after all.  In this case, Rory himself maintains that he choked.  That’s as close to definitive as we’re likely to get, so Rory’s Augusta-Congressional turnaround disproves Trump’s contention that once a choke artist, always a choke artist.  Now, I started by saying I’d been meaning to write this for a while.  Last night, as I watched Trump’s press conference, he said it again.  This time, however, he softened it with “generally speaking.”  If he had done that the first time, it would have been nice.  I wonder if Rory at Doral this week reminded him of the same counterexample as I came up with.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to The TRUMP: Sunday Semi-Live Blog

  1. Kris says:

    Trump is great for golf, but routinely takes great courses and makes them unfair and overpriced. Trump is great for America, but he’s never held political office or been in the military, has no idea how to be president and can’t conduct himself like an adult. The fact that he’s gotten this far in the process says the American political system is broken. Please just give me a reasonable moderate for president.

    It’s frustrating to watch golf and see balls hit fairways and greens and then roll into the water. Granted, it’s not as bad as it was in 2014 with 318 balls in the water. The leaderboard isn’t fluky, but it is full of long hitters. Rory will probably win today unless he has a bad hole or two and loses momentum. Then he’ll probably give up like he usually does when his round isn’t going perfectly.

    • Sports-realist. says:

      You can’t trust ‘moderate’ as a term anymore…obama ran as a ‘middle of the road’ guy, but is as far left as you can possibly get….Only the lib media has protected obamas very dictatorial and communistic approach to being a president…..
      I don’t trust ANY politician who wants to take away your guns, and that is what the left wants to do…..I’ll take bugs bunny over anyone on the left, as they don’t respect the constitution….Remember we’ve had multiple attacks by Muslims this year, and EVERY time, Obama has wanted to take away freedom from law abiding citizens, yet wants as many muslims in the country as possible….
      The nuclear reactor in Iran is quite possibly the most amazing act of stupidity by a president that we’ve ever seen, yet obama is showing just how MUSLIM he is, and the other dems, including hillary, don’t seem to understand how dangerous it would be to have Iran with a nuclear reactor……

    • Jaybird77 says:

      “Trump is great for golf, but routinely takes great courses and makes them unfair and overpriced.”

      Hammer, meet nail head. That’s not how you “make golf great again”.

      • lannyh says:

        I think you missed the sarcasm. At least that’s how I read it. I think it was a shot at me, as the next comment was very similar in construct.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        I skipped over the first part and focused on the “but” part of it.

  2. Sports-realist. says:

    Line is dropping on Rory, was up to -190, down to -170…….Bubba won a few weeks ago with as the sole leader, but otherwise, the sole leaders have been choking their chicken…Rory looked real good Thursday thru Saturday, but now Sunday starts, and a par, bogey kinda start, brings everyone in the field…………..As I recall, last year, Dustin Johnson started hitting alot of putts, so I’d favor Rory, for the obvious lead, but again Sunday leaders have been sketchy, and Rory hasn’t exactly put 4 great rounds together in a long time……we’ll see…

  3. Jaybird77 says:

    Your buddy Kyle had an article yesterday of tweets by Trump saying he is going to be at Doral today.

    • lannyh says:

      Oh, okay. Good deal. Actually, I think I heard Trump say that yesterday, too. I just don’t know when, or what his involvement will be. I haven’t seen any of his kids, which last year they were all over the place, but much of that was on the non-live coverage programming which this year I am just plain not watching at all.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        I had TGC on in the shop yesterday and glanced up long enough to see they were talking to his son (Eric?), but haven’t noticed any of them on the live NBC coverage. The tweet Kyle referenced was Trump indicating he was looking forward to handing the trophy over to the winner so don’t plan on seeing him until, at a minimum, the last groups are on the back 9.

    • lannyh says:

      As soon as I wrote that last response, I finished reading a NY Post article. Seems Trump is going to hand out the trophy. After Rory’s rather chilly comments about the candidates, will that be awkward?

  4. Jaybird77 says:

    Sounds like the wind is up a bit. That’s not good for Rory.

  5. Jaybird77 says:

    BREAKING NEWS!!!!!! trump has arrived!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Jaybird77 says:

      As expected the coverage has gone from golf to trump. I’m out.

      • lannyh says:

        I hate that I missed it. I turned it off at the Woods BS. At least Trump has won something in the past three years. (Last night’s LA primary, for one. Super Tuesday for another.)

      • Jaybird77 says:

        Interesting. Had the coverage on up until they started following trump and didn’t hear the Woods stuff. Granted it was on in the background while I was doing other things so very well could have missed it.

      • lannyh says:

        For me, one mention of Woods and I turn it off unless it’s something I really care about. I might suffer through one or two mentions this afternoon, for example.

        Hey, isn’t this changeover swell? We catch the end of rugby, then a batch of commercials, then we’ll get an opening or three with a sports commercial for NBC sports. Then maybe in ten minutes, we’ll see if Rory hit a decent shot out of the bunker.

    • lannyh says:

      You get a free year’s subscription!

      I hate that I missed it.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        It was amazing! While golfers were on the course playing golf the cameras were all on the trump copter while it descended to the ground. Then they showed the donald walking through the crowds as tiger woods fans hurled negative comments at the great donald trump. That’s as far as I got before I changed the channel.

      • lannyh says:

        Were there really negative comments?

      • Jaybird77 says:

        You bet. There were several, one that stuck out (since it was on in the background for me) included the word racist.

      • lannyh says:

        The media trained them well.

  6. Jaybird77 says:

    Jordan Spieth offically says the best moment of his life would be at the Olympics!

  7. Sports-realist. says:

    If you had to pick a winner besides Rory……I’d probably take Scott, MAINLY becuase he’s in the 2nd to last group, where the last group tends to play more stiff, than the next to last group…. +560 for Scott, +510 for Johnson to win…..Ofcourse that would mean back to back weeks for Scott to win, who went EVEN par last Sunday to win…Obviously that would not be enough today…….Someone will have to shoot at least a 68 or 67 from behind Rory, and have Rory shoot the ole EVEN or 1 over type of thing…..With wind brings more water, who will find it….

  8. Sports-realist. says:

    instead of the LAMEST golf coverage in sports on NBC with their 1980’s George Michaels Sports Machine report, I’m watching the beginning of James Bond in Octopussy….no offense….

    • lannyh says:

      I just heard Rory left his birdie putt five feet short on first hole… via PGATour radio. NBC is doing total nonsense. What crap.

    • Jaybird77 says:

      Lord of the Rings is on TNT so I’ve got that on while I do some work.

      • lannyh says:

        Rory saved par. Scott yanked one left. Mickelson, too. I have the Lord of the Rings movies in my very, very limited DVD collection.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        One holiday season my family rented the first one. After it was over we drove to the rental store to rent the other two and stayed up until 2am watching them. It was a Lord of the Rings Marathon!!!

  9. Jaybird77 says:

    I actually think trump might really be the way to go for the next President but I think my issue is just how arrogant he is.

    Relating it to golf, Phil has a nickname of FIGJAM (F I’m Good, Just Ask Me) which turns people, like me, off. trump is the same way. If he had a more humble way about himself, like a Jordan or Jason or Rory, I would probably have a different perspective on the dbag.

    • lannyh says:

      They showed a quick synopsis of his arrival. The helicopter and some handshaking. No taunts, but it was a five-second clip.

      I like him only because he will bring to public awareness the issues of (1) a lying, deceiving media, and (2) the damage done by political correctness.

  10. Sports-realist. says:

    Scott where was that course management last week….my gosh…

  11. Sports-realist. says:

    Mcllroy now a -400 favorite to win…

    • Sports-realist. says:

      lol…smh…like I said…where was THIS Adam Scott last week….2 balls already in the water and his course management sucks….Rory saying thank you very very much…..Phil ain’t going to catch Rory…

  12. Jaybird77 says:

    Reminds me of a Tiger win……shoot even par, or close to it, and let everyone around him eff up.

  13. Sports-realist. says:

    Mcllroy with only a 1 shot lead….hmmmm , AND one OVER par so far….boy these leaders lately…

  14. Sports-realist. says:

    Wow didn’t Rory throw his club in the water at this course last year or so? what a terrible miss considering…just hit it ANYWHERE left…I’m sorry I’ve played alot of golf where I play against players, and COURSE Management usually wins the day….Rory goes for it and hits it in the water? similar to scott earlier……when in doubt with the lead, play it safe…esp on a par 5…

  15. Jaybird77 says:

    Phil gets to -11 and this good get interesting.

  16. Sports-realist. says:

    Amazing how this went from a laugher to a bunched leaderboard….Rory was an underdog to win, last I checked……Then Phil finds the water…….smh..

  17. Jaybird77 says:

    Tuned back in (will leave again at the first trump sighting) and this is definitely interesting!

  18. Jaybird77 says:

    Adam Scott, 296 3 wood “It’s no big deal”.

  19. Sports-realist. says:

    Rory does not have confidence in his swing….

  20. Sports-realist. says:

    So Watson has done NOTHING, besides the first 3 par 5’s, in which he is 4 under par…..

  21. Sports-realist. says:

    Starting to think 11 under gets you in a playoff….

  22. Sports-realist. says:

    so after Scott double bogeyed 2 of his first 4 holes, he now has a TWO stroke lead? wow…

  23. Jaybird77 says:

    Trump reference….I’m out again.

  24. Sports-realist. says:

    if you are Scott here, you take your medicine and play for WORST a bogey and a playoff…no reason to mess with the water…

  25. Sports-realist. says:

    So ONCE again…the leaders, and not just any leaders, but Mickelson and Rory BOTH blow 2 and 3 shot leads….Scott last week shot even to win, this time shoots 3 under to win and back to back wins, inlcuding a VERY lucky ball NOT going into the water on 18……..

    • Sports-realist. says:

      ofcourse steve sands has to ruin it with his ‘what does it say about your mental approach’, which he asks to EVERYONE, ALL THE TIME…It’s like he has NO originality and no original questions for the moment……..sands is about the worst interviewer you could have….

Leave a Reply

