Rickie Fowler Day/Saturday Jackie-Jack Semi-Live

This is as good a time as any for Rickie Fowler Day at Lanny H Golf.

rickie-grandfather

 

(Screen capture taken from the CBS documentary,”PGA Tour 2015: Coming Home”.)

 

 

 

Here are my three classic Rickie Fowler columns along with….<drumroll>…. the CBS documentary segment on Rickie and the Murrieta, California, driving range.  If you can’t stomach my writing, you should at least watch that 7-minute clip.  I choke up every time I watch it.  Every time.

My article on the modest driving range in Rickie Fowler’s hometown, where Rickie got his start with the help of his grandfather.  It was also a request for mainstream golf media coverage of the range.  (I consider this the best thing I’ve ever written here.)

My article on CBS’s response to my request (that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!).  CBS produced an excellent documentary, and I gave them the highest praise.  I had only seen it once — the original airing.  (Any Sherlock Holmes types out there will notice something about which I was slightly off.)

HERE IT IS ⇒  The segment on Rickie and Murrieta from that very CBS documentary.  This was not available online at the time I wrote my article.  (Unbeknownst to me, they posted it a couple of weeks later.  Definitely a case of better late than never.)  It gets really good at the 2-minute mark when the Murrieta Range makes its entrance.  “I’m not a country club kid; I’m a product of this grass and this dirt.”

And what tribute to Rickie Fowler would be complete without my New Orleans Open “tough love” column that impelled him to the great run of golf he’s been on since.

Lastly, go Rickie!  Win this Jackie Gleason-Jack Nicklaus Honda Inverrary Classic!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Rickie Fowler Day/Saturday Jackie-Jack Semi-Live

  1. Sports-realist. says:

    Well Rickie had this same one shot lead going into saturday and a huge favorite…he didn’t win….Will he handle it this time? Wouldn’t surprise me if Sergio Garcia took care of business…

    • Kris says:

      As a long time Sergio fan, it would surprise me if he took care of business. I enjoy seeing him play well, but I’ve learned not to have expectations. I hope Rickie can recover from his first bogeys of the tournament and be a factor tomorrow. Lanny might have jinxed him.

      • lannyh says:

        I fear I did…

        Nevertheless, he’s still got a great, inspirational life story.

      • Kris says:

        I concur, though I disapprove of his Back to the Future looking high tops, his ankle strangler pants, and his horribly placed tattoos. I jinxed Jimmy Walker earlier picking him to win.

  2. Jaybird77 says:

    After Rickie shot himself in the foot today, it’s kind of looking like a two man race as this doesn’t seem to be a course someone can go low on.

    • lannyh says:

      Yeah, it does. I can’t root against Sergio or Adam, but if they’d tumble in tandem, it sure would make things more interesting. Too bad Rickie couldn’t have saved just a couple of strokes. Five strokes is just so much, especially behind those two.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        If Rickie can find another 4 under round, or even 5 under, it could get very interesting. I think he has to get to at least 7 to have any chance of making it interesting.

  3. Jaybird77 says:

    A little disappointing to see little Rickie fall back but, given the circumstances, I’m not sure you could ask for a better final round pairing than Serg and A Scott. Definitely has my attention!

  4. Sports-realist. says:

    the pointless nbc sports report, unless you are still using a vcr and have time warped into the 1980’s, when George Michael’s ‘Sports Machine’ is going strong also……

    • lannyh says:

      It’s “brought to you by” someone, right?

    • Sports-realist. says:

      9 holes in and still waiting for Garcia to hit a quality 2nd shot….

      • Sports-realist. says:

        Ok, can someone explain to me how Garcia EVER won anything? I mean seriously a 3 footer? Why is the Ryder Cup so different in Garcia’s mind? I just don’t understand that, but no doubt, if Garcia’s mindset was MATCHPLAY instead of ‘a pga event’, you’d think he’d have about 10 more wins, at least…..not to mention a few majors…

      • Jaybird77 says:

        Same can be said for Poulter.

      • Sports-realist. says:

        it’s like when sergio is NOT playing for money, he putts great ect, when he is playing for money….um, well….so far today, it’s been amateur hour..

  5. Sports-realist. says:

    garcia should just sit out the pga and play the ryder ‘who gives a crap’ every two years….you talk about pathetic..

  6. Sports-realist. says:

    garcia is a pos folks…biggest choke in pga history, considering his supposed talent….no other way of looking at it…..he hit about 2 quality shots the ENTIRE round….TWO…didn’t make ANY putts outside of 8 feet….2 over par……with the 18th to go…needs a miracle..

  7. Kris says:

    Wow Sports-realist, did you make the mistake of putting money on him? Sergio didn’t implode, he just didn’t win. Adam deserved to win and Sergio didn’t absolutely embarrass himself. Both my favorites came in 2nd today, so it was a decent sports day for me.

Leave a Reply

