Anatomy of a Murdered Telecast/Sunday Semi-Live

How was yesterday’s coverage by CBS?  In a word: Awful.  In four words:  Gary McCord Must Go.

  1. The 30-minute gap (2:30 pm to 3:00 pm EDT) while Golf Channel passed the live coverage to CBS.  That this is standard operating procedure makes it no less disruptive.
  2. 3:00 pm arrived and coverage began.  Well, no, it didn’t.  Instead, the start was delayed so CBS could show the conclusion of a blowout basketball game.  The score was 92-66 when I turned on CBS.  I don’t know what the final score was because I changed back to the political coverage on CNN.
  3. Finally, coverage begins.  The first thing I hear Jim Nantz say is that Rory just played the par-4 10th hole (about which more later) and birdied it.  I never heard if we missed it because of the 30-minute gap or the runover of the blowout basketball game.
  4. CBS started cramming graphics down our throats, apparently trying to make up for the time lost to the basketball game.
  5. Gary McCord performed the most unfunny comedy routine in history.  A player was using a tee to clean his spikes.  Wow, that being so uncommon and all, McCord thought it would be funny to describe this in the manner players’ swings are analyzed.  The bit was equally unfunny and interminable.
  6. McCord next doubled down by pronouncing No. 10 the best short par-4 in the world.  The best hole in the world that we didn’t get to see Rory birdie.  After making his declaration, McCord found it necessary to poll each announcer one-by-one to determine their opinions on this matter of no-import.  Tedious beyond belief.
  7. While this way going on, I waited, impatiently, for information on Rory.  Maybe a replay of his birdie at No. 10.  Finally, they show Rory hitting a rather poor pitch shot.  No context is given.  A few minutes later, they show K.J. Choi making a putt; in the background, Rory walks up to his ball mark, already having hit his approach putt.  I think Rory has bogied the hole until I see K.J. birdied; it was a par-5.  I presume Rory got par.
  8. CBS obsessively focused on “the leaders.”  Leaders who had played only 36 holes, and had 36 holes more to go.  Plenty of Merritt and Reavie and Kokrak.  Deja Vu.  Does anyone remember the tournament coverage last year when Jordan Spieth went bizarrely uncovered?  I complained (“CBS’s Bizarre Saturday Coverage“) — and so did others (Adam Fonseca’s “Monday Morning Marshal: PGA TOUR Week in Review 2/22/2015” highlights a Trevor Reaske tweet, and here’s truly funny Chris Solomon/NLU tweet).  Listen, CBS, this is not complicated:  Cover the stars who are in contention on Saturday more than unknowns who have a (very likely temporary) one-stroke lead.  This is common sense.  Focus on the unknown one-shot leaders on Sunday, not Saturday.
  9. How many times do I need to see Dustin Johnson’s swing in slow motion?  How many times do I need to see anyone’s swing in slow motion?  Anyone who cares can pull it up on YouTube and watch to their heart’s content.  On a related note, how many times do I need to hear about Johnson’s “great athleticism”?

Question:  Did the loss of David Feherty lead to CBS’s catastrophically bad coverage?  I don’t mean his on-air presence, but I am asking rather:  Was Feherty a driving force at the pre-telecast production meetings?  I am not a fan of Feherty’s constant attempts at humor, but give him credit: He knows the difference between a five-second one-liner and the forced, humorless, tedious gags of McCord.

In addition to being tedious and unfunny, McCord won’t shut up.  He rambles constantly, saying nothing.  He spouts meaningless, stupid-ass shit, pausing only to breathe.  A totally pointless motormouth.  If you don’t believe me, pay attention this afternoon.

Okay, I’ve been told, If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.  At long last, here’s something nice:  I liked the blimp shots of Riviera and the surrounding locale.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Anatomy of a Murdered Telecast/Sunday Semi-Live

  1. GUAdmin says:

    Wrong “Adam”, Lanny. 😉

    • lannyh says:

      I don’t know what that means, but let me see if I can figure it out…

    • lannyh says:

      Oh, man, I fixed it. Thanks for the heads-up. I am glad you caught it, and so quickly. I like Fonseca — even though he banned Trump supporters, I still sneak a peak at Golf Unfiltered once in a while — so I can’t believe I messed that up. At the moment, I’m not even sure who Sarson is, though I’ve heard the name many times.

      Thanks again.

      • Sports-realist. says:

        what? fonseca banned them? if that doesn’t show the hypocrisy of the left, who always CLAIMS to be open minded ect, when they are all about dictatorships and NO freedom of speech….people like fonseca should be removed……What if other writers banned hillary supporters or anyone else…It’s very childish fonseca…..to quote Donald Trump===you’re fired!!!

      • lannyh says:

        Now, now, is that any way to treat a guest?

    • lannyh says:

      GUAdmin… G… U… Golf… Unfiltered…

      Faithful readers, I think we just had a celebrity visit. Good things come in threes, it is said, so watch today for a Rory win and a Danica win!

  2. Sports-realist. says:

    On to the golf…Mcllroy is putting like he is 30 feet away on 15 footers….As an amateur golfer, usually I realize that I’m hitting it too hard or soft, based on the greens…So far Mcllroy has 3 putted from 13 feet, rammed on in for eagle on the first, and over shot a 15 footer by about 5 feet….Still waiting on that professional adjustment by Rory on the greens…

    • lannyh says:

      I know. His only “good” putt was the eagle putt which would have wound up in the Pacific Ocean had it not hit the hole.

      All in all, he played well, though. It’s his first time around this course. I think Jack only cashed a check for $38 his first time at Riviera. But it’s disappointing he could not play well enough to make it fun today.

      • Sports-realist. says:

        Rory has never impressed me with a ‘plan b’ approach…I mean his 2nd shots have rarely found the green today…..He actually is starting to remind me of Phil Mickelson, strategy wise…Which means LITTLE strategy, go for everything, and well…..

    • Sports-realist. says:

      last week Phil choked…why is Rory playing like he belongs in and old man’s golf league somewhere?

  3. Jaybird77 says:

    Lanny, I forget which hole or even event it was but I remember you complaining about a mickey mouse hole somewhere that Rory played terribly for that entire event.

    It would seem #10 at Riviera might fall in the same category.

    • Sports-realist. says:

      10 is the ultimate succor hole…Why after 3 rounds, ANY pro would say “yeah I can hit it” is a real idiot…It’s impossible with a draw, and hitting it the other way is just as unlikely, due to the angle…..The caddies obviously can’t talk sense into MOST of them, but it is a LAYUP shot to about 100 yards……..Rory is really playing like an amateur so far….Not sure what it is…..

      • Jaybird77 says:

        I’m not so sure the guys are trying to hit the green as much as they are trying to put it in the fairway just over the left fairway bunker where they are looking straight up the green. Problem is, for a lot of guys driver is too much so they go long and for the majority, 3 wood isn’t quite long enough.

        Add in the front to back slope of the green and it’s just a tough (bad?) design.

      • lannyh says:

        After what looked like an incredible start, I was unable to watch the entire round. So disappointing.

    • lannyh says:

      Hmmm. You’ve got me thinking…

      Oh! I’ve got it! One of the holes at Dubai. I want to say it was No. 10 there, too, and maybe Rory started on that hole on day one. It funneled into a sandtrap. He bounced a great approach on the front of the green, and it got a hard hop. You think, Oh, darn, it’s going to run past the hole a little. Instead it rolled and rolled and rolled and rolled into a bunker, like a funnel almost.

  4. Jaybird77 says:

    There was a guy in the last 20 years that was really good and was known to an extent for his intensity and ability to grind. I saw an article written by someone, forget who, that said out of the young guys right now Jordan seems to be the closest to having that same ability to grind.

    I don’t think the same can be said for Rory. Today is just one example, but there have been others, where his body language and the way he carries himself down the stretch clearly changes, as if to say, “I give up”..

    • Sports-realist. says:

      Yeah I’m starting to wonder if he’s changing swings? or just tinkering with it, that is causing all these problems….

      • Sports-realist. says:

        all I know is I’m done wagering with Rory Mcllroy, he has CHOKED more than he’s won in these last few years…

    • lannyh says:

      I think, for Woods, it was a major goal to make cuts. He played a limited number of events, and avoided unfriendly golf courses. Jordan plays a lot and all over. I don’t think he wants to miss cuts, but he hardly sulks when he does.

      I was looking at this the other day, but not closely, so take this with a little grain of salt, but… I think Jordan has 52 PLUS events in the past two years. 52 is the max you can have in your “Counting Events” for OWGR, and I think his 52 come in less than two years. I’ll try to check soon. Anyway, the point is that Jordan is play close to 30 events a year. And he is not shying away from playing unfamiliar courses.

      Jordan’s ego is not totally tied to his golf game. He misses a cut, and he sleeps fine at night. Remember this is a guy who finished T-21 at the Open when he was 18, and won it at age 21.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        Yeah, Jordan is playing a pretty insane schedule and has already said that going forward he is going to take a closer look at when/where he plays (i.e. fewer events).

        If you look at TW he probably didn’t play the number of events Jordan is early on but he had a similar trend where he played more events early in his career and then scaled back as his career went on.

        I think that’s something you see with all the top golfers who have that ability to choose where they want to play (i.e. in some cases where they like to play).

      • lannyh says:

        For the record, Woods played in his first three full: 22, 24, 24. Jordan: 27, 30, 27. (Those numbers, I notice, confirm my hunch that Jordan was surpassing the 52 event max.) I wonder if Jordan is the first OWGR #1 to have done that. You’d think the golf media might find that worth noting…

        I see Jordan made 22, 27, and 23 cuts that year, so he was there on the weekend for the TV cameras. I can tell you this: Woods never made 27 cuts a single time in his entire career.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        True but you are also confirming what I said. As you say, in TW’s first few years he played 22-24 events. By the middle to end of his run he was playing 15-18.

        I think you’ll see Jordan have a similar move from 27-30 events a year to something close to the 22-24 range (i.e. he’ll scale back where and when he plays).

      • lannyh says:

        I wasn’t disputing that. Just pointing out that Woods never scared the 52 event rolloff number.

        By the way, my numbers are from official OWGR events. Some people use only the PGA Tour events, but for a multitude of reasons, I think that’s an anachronism. The only problem with the OWGR is that is counts the Woods December points giveaway (and the South African version).

  5. Lanny…your two heroes stunk it up…Spieth: MC…Rory: hacking it up…how’s that “SHOTMAKER” thing workin’ out for ya? And to top it off you can’t get your “Adams” right. Tough day for you! LOL

  6. Sports-realist. says:

    mcllroy has bogeyed 5 out of his last 7 holes….talk about amateur hour….

    • Jaybird77 says:

      I think that shows the lack of ability to grind I mentioned a bit ago. He’s just thinking, “get me to the house”.

    • “watch today for a Rory win and a Danica win!”
      Oh by the way…Rory hack…Danica: DNF…nice try Lanny.

      • Sports-realist. says:

        so what we all make predictions…..

      • lannyh says:

        Yeah, and I didn’t really predict anything. I just said that good things come in three so maybe we’d get three good things. As it turned out, I misinterpreted Fonseca’s visit, and we actually got three bad things today, which is also a saying.

        Although Bubba’s win again proves that Riviera is a shotmakers course. No one would deny Bubba hits imaginative shots of many varieties.

  7. Sports-realist. says:

    Just check mark this golf coverage….They are rarely showing Rory, granted he is sucking, but the next time Eldrick plays and is doing the same ‘sucking’ as he did last yaer….We’ll see how hypocritical they are at showing ALL his shots, even 10, 15, or 20 shots back….

    • Jaybird77 says:

      Had the same thought. And you know it’s true.

    • “the next time Eldrick plays”
      Ain’t gonna be a next time…he’s toast.

      • Sports-realist. says:

        he’s toast, but the media keeps wanting it to be 1999….hence the bad coverage when he plays…

    • lannyh says:

      Well, this Rory fan didn’t want to see him after his first three-putt bogey… I watched Daytona and Trump in Atlanta.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        Politicians are a lot of hot air so I really don’t pay much attention to their messages. Instead, I listen and can usually eliminate most of the candidates based on how they present their message (Bush for example came across as a complete moron). The more I hear of everyone, the better the chances are for Trump.

      • lannyh says:

        I hope you are right. I am not as optimistic. With the Democrats, Republicans, and media all against him, he’s swimming upstream.

        The funny thing is, I oppose several of his biggest ideas. I want him to win for one reason only: to do away with political correctness and restore common sense to our national discussion.

        You know, I wonder if Trump saw this website and decided he’d like to do for America what I’ve done for golf. If so, I might be getting some feelers before long about a VP gig…

      • Jaybird77 says:

        Trust me, I’d rather not see him win, but he is clearly a much better communicator and is presenting his message much more effectively.

        For me, one of the things he has going for him is he is a ‘ugely successful businessman; not a career politician. And someone like that might just be what ‘murica needs to fix/improve a lot of the financial disasters that have been created over the last few terms.

  8. Pingback: Thursday Jackie-Jack InverRory Classic Semi-Live Blog | Lanny H Golf

Leave a Reply

