Saturday Pebble Beach Semi-Live Blog: It’s Celebrity Day in the Neighborhood

3:00 pm Update:  Oh, great.  I turn on the golf tournament only to find… a basketball game.  We’re stuck watching these idiots dribble a basketball around instead of Bill Murray and his Pebble Beach hijinks.  I have never been so angry in my life!

8:15 am Update:  Boom!  Miami Herald letter to the editor puts “outrage” at Trump in damning (to PGA Tour hypocrites) perspective.

6:15 am:  I’ll try to watch.  We’ll see.

Spencer Levin fell off the pace, but Roberto Castro is hanging tough.  Ryan Ruffels recovered from a bogey start on his first hole to post a respectable score and stay in the hunt; I’d love to see him among the leaders come Sunday.  And one Jason Day went low to announce his presence.  The problem is that these guys play one of three different courses today, so, even though the weekend has arrived, we are still comparing apples-and-oranges scores.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Saturday Pebble Beach Semi-Live Blog: It’s Celebrity Day in the Neighborhood

  1. Sports-realist. says:

    I I find it hard to pay attention with all these different courses….It’s like having your supper thrown in a blender….Then alot of Bill Murray, as he TRIES to be funny….It’s like a JJ Abrams film, alot of action, but not too much going on really….

    • Sports-realist. says:

      if you added up the amount of time spent on showing birds, water, whales, bla, bla, bla, it’s like I’m watching old home vacation videos…

  2. Ken says:

    I don’t plan on watching until tomorrow. There was a time when I enjoyed the pro-am in the ’70s and ’80s (though I preferred the Hope), but it’s just tedious and dull now. Watching the middle-aged and older announcers slobber over Justin Timberlake (what are the odds that any of the announcers actually like his music?) is not enjoyable.

    Bill Murray is funny when he has a script. He’s a fine serious actor. Off script, he is simply not a funny person. There’s few things more annoying than someone trying too hard to be funny.

  3. Jaybird77 says:

    That letter to the editor makes a pretty good point. I think a lot of the problem with Trump (ie. why some people dislike him) is he comes across as in your face arrogant and also comes across as a huge snob that sees himself as better than everyone else.

    • Sports-realist. says:

      name a politician that doesn’t fit that bill….you have seen obama right?

      • Sports-realist. says:

        I mean why would you like Hillary? she comes off as a total bitch in public, and we KNOW that she is a bitch in private, from plenty of sources…..The lib media is DESPERATE as always to find ANYTHING to attack the Republican candidates…..Obama has been an arrogant azz from the beginning, just ask Israel….

      • Jaybird77 says:

        It’s the level of “in your face”. I have to believe it’s a qualification for politicians but some find ways to not make it so obvious. Trump isn’t one of them.

      • lannyh says:

        I definitely know where you are coming from. I don’t recall us ever having another political candidate who would so routinely call his opponents “losers” and insult them personally. He also regularly refers to the media as “scum” and “horrible people.”

        I think it is the latter more than the former that unnerves the media — and draws supporters like me!

        Why should a candidate feel the need to play by the old rules where the media played the role of kingmaker? I think the answer is, in 2016, he shouldn’t.

        I think the first time I paid any attention whatsoever to Trump — I thought he was a joke candidate — was when people here started debated whether he “insulted Mexicans.” I found that the media was distoring and lying, and I started paying attention and started taking Trump seriously.

        Trump’s battle, in a lot of ways, is the battle I’ve fought here. The media has an agenda they wish to achieve, and they will say anything to do so.

  4. Sports-realist. says:

    I feel like I’m watching half baywatch, meets ‘shark week’, meets ‘battle of the network stars’ meets golf, or something……This is BY FAR, the hardest PGA tourney to get into….I’m in very cold weather, and college basketball is a 3 pt shooting contest, so…..

    • lannyh says:

      I didn’t last five minutes. I am watching GOP debate preview on the news nets. For one thing, CBS kept showing Jordan Spieth, who is 10 shots off the lead.

      About the marine life, I like it! Don’t forget I wrote about Big Blue Live last summer.

      https://lannyhgolf.wordpress.com/2015/08/31/monday-thoughts-9/

      “Big Blue Live: Tonight, and for the following two nights, PBS is airing a program which is, apparently, live coverage of Monterey Bay, showing the rejuvenation of marine life in the area. True golf fans will want to watch this because Pebble Beach is on the Monterey Peninsula.”

Leave a Reply

