Yesterday Was An Awful Sports Day

I.  Rory gave it a go, but was too far back to have any realistic chance in Dubai.

II.  Fowler played solidly all day — until he didn’t.  I wouldn’t read more into it than that, though.  Fowler hit clutch shot after clutch shot to stay alive after he overdrove the green coming down the stretch.  Still, it was not the result I wanted.  (I was for Fowler, but I regularly pull for Matsuyama, too, who has risen to OWGR #12 with this Phoenix Open win.  At age 23.)

III.  The Super Bowl was truly awful.  Yes, my team lost, but it wasn’t that.  After all, I was okay with either team winning, really.  It just wasn’t an enjoyable viewing experience.

  • Penalties, penalties, penalties (with plentiful bad calls)
  • Poor QB play
  • Crappy field
  • Unforced turnovers galore

When you compare this game to the NCAA Championship game between Alabama and Clemson, you can see why I regularly point out the NFL has an inferior product, and interest would be in freefall if not for fantasy football betting.  There was one turnover in the NCAA Championship; there were six in the Super Bowl.  There were six penalties in the NCAA game, a whopping eighteen in the Super Bowl.  3rd down conversions in the NCAA game: 9-18 and 6-14; in the Super Bowl 3-15 and 1-14.

Defining play:  The incredible onside kick in the NCAA game.  The Super Bowl… one of the fumbles?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Yesterday Was An Awful Sports Day

  1. Kris says:

    Rory is in mediocre mode right now, not world domination mode. I think Nike is putting a lot of pressure on him to win big tournaments on top of forcing him to mention Tiger all the time and it’s messing with his head. Rickie played well, but he owes his playoff appearance to a few insanely good breaks, most notably the shot on 15 that stopped inches before rolling into the water earlier in the week and the ball skipping through the bunker on 18 which allowed for the birdie chance.

    The Super Bowl was a joke. Lady Gaga’s national anthem was the highlight of the night. The Broncos defense destroyed the Panthers, but the Panthers played like garbage. However, the refs seemed to want a Peyton win, which I’m sure affected the game’s momentum. The Panthers had twice as many penalties and had to use both challenges in the first 20 minutes, one of which wasn’t overturned when it should have been. Half the Broncos penalties came from Talib acting like an idiot, and they never had to use a challenge. In the postgame press conferences all the Panthers were upset, but Kuechly handled himself the best and Cam handled himself the worst. Cam fundamentally failed to Keep Pounding. He should be ashamed of himself on every level. He proved that he is everything his detractors said he was.

    • lannyh says:

      I would not normally be concerned about Rory playing good but not great this time of year. He’s peaked early in some years. What bugs me is that I thought the eye surgery was going to pay instant dividends with his putting. I do want to stress, though, that No. 10 cost Rory a couple of shots due to the Goofy Golf nature of its green.

      Rickie did get some breaks, that’s for sure! The break of the week has to go to Harris English, though, for his ball that hit sign keeping it out of the water.

      It seems like there is more discussion about Cam’s behavior (pre and post, primarily) than about the game itself. That’s not great commentary on the product the NFL put in front of us. I’m still shaking my head that the crappy field and 18 penalties.

  2. Jaybird77 says:

    Too Funny. It was an awful day because your rooting interests didn’t win. Had Rickie won the playoff and Carolina had won that ugly game, you’d like be talking about what a great sports day it was.

    • Sports-realist. says:

      Well everyone has their favorites, but the superbowl was rather Unentertaining……What bothered me the MOST was the vanilla gameplans by BOTH teams…Very little imagination ect….
      The golf was good, granted I was rooting for Lee, and he decided to forget how to play regular golf…..
      The Rickie Fowler butt kissing bothered me, as these announcers tried TOO hard to PUSH one golfe(Fowler) and FORGET the others….That is extremely unprofessional to play FAVORITES while announcing, and the camera coverage PROVED it…..Ok so he’s a fan favorite, got it, but so what…..It’s no diff when Eldrick is playing and 100 shots back, and continuing to show his every shot..

      • lannyh says:

        Exactly. I constantly mentioned I was for Fowler, so Fowler fails and I call that awful. He points out I said that because I was for Fowler? Uh, yeah, that was kind of the whole point.

        Some people just like conflict for the sake of conflict. They personalize or tribalize everything.

        As for the Super Bowl, I don’t think anyone without an agenda is saying that was a quality football game. It’s pretty unanimous that it sucked.

        Of course, topping everything was that I was just trying to make a joke with the title. Ah, well.

        Oh, about Rickie. The difference is that Rickie doesn’t get much covered when he is even three back. Rickie was in contention, looked to be the winner after No. 15. Criticism in that regard would be better aimed at the Mickelson coverage, if you ask me.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        Well if the intent was for “awful” to be more about the product than the outcome, then that’s my bad for misinterpreting that intent.

        And, I’ll agree the product was not particular good, actually rather bad. But I still found it entertaining.

      • lannyh says:

        Okay, look, life has a lot of ambiguity. So I write the headline as a joke on the fact that my two favorites lost. But in the article, I pointed out that the game sucked, for three reasons which I listed. I don’t know why this needs to be discussed.

        I’ve always said this website is for intelligent people. If it’s too advanced for you, try cbssports.com or golfchannel.com. They would kill for some of my readers and commenters.

    • lannyh says:

      Why exactly would that be funny?

      For the record, I don’t enjoy football games on crappy turf with constant penalty interruptions no matter who is playing. I think what’s “too funny” is that you are incapable not only of being objective, but even believing others can be objective.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        You were not shy in your desire to see Carolina win. They didn’t. So, it’s really not that much of a stretch to see that outcome effect your objectivity.

        I like objectivity as much as the next person….when it appears to be truly objective.

      • lannyh says:

        The more you say, the lower my opinion of your intellect goes. There were eighteen penalties. The record is 20. Have you ever heard anyone say, “The game was okay, but there just weren’t enough penalties.” And the slippery field. Players were slipping and sliding like crazy. You seem to be one of those who think disagreement is a sign of deep thinking.

  3. Sports-realist. says:

    both of you have valid points…it is what it is….Superbowls are built up TOO much…The commercials have sucked for years(remember Bud Bowl 7 or whatever), the halftime show is for teenagers……….The game itself just never seemed to change gears….

Leave a Reply

