Super Bowl Sunday Stuff

jalnichols:  Is jalnichols really about to double down on his Euro Seven bashing?  Is he going to throw good money after bad?  We’ll know soon.

Super Bowl L HGH:  Slate can be awful, but they can be good.  This is from an interesting piece about Peyton Manning, HGH, and drugs in sports:

It was all such utter balls, but Manning and Salters were only playing the parts assigned to them in the hack dramaturgy of sports-world drug scandals. The script by now is so familiar that much of the subsequent coverage of the HGH insinuations […] amounted to theater criticism.  Manning’s guilt or innocence was beside the point; all that mattered was whether he nailed his lines.

That “theater criticism” sentence may be the best I’ve read in my life.

Olympics Golf, How Exciting!  Maybe I’m wrong, but I think I just noticed something rather fascinating.  Did you see where Rory McIlroy recently said he’d much rather win the Masters this year than an Olympic gold medal?  My guess is you did not.  I saw it in a CNN story.  On a hunch, I googled on “Rory Masters Olympics” using various “+site:” qualifiers for the major golf websites.  I came up empty.  I guess there are too many ties to NBC/Golf Channel for anyone to utter a disparaging word about NBC’s Olympics.  (By the way, Rory finished strong today at Dubai to wind up T-6.  Holes 7-9 clobbered him this week, and No. 10 didn’t help his cause either.  I’d ask Rory if the changes to the golf course affected him, but no one in the golf media will.)  If any reader can prove my theory wrong — that the American golf media is covering up Rory’s statement — by showing me an article with a dateline prior to this piece, he or she will receive a year’s free LannyH Insider subscription to this website.

Also, on the topic of the Olympics, did you notice how Olympics golf coverage in the U.S. died with Woods’s career?  Funny how that works, isn’t it…

Pebble Beach Blanket Bingo:  Pebble is a great course, and Jordan Spieth is in the field (well, it is the AT&T Pebble Pro-Am, after all), but the thought of three golf courses filled with depressing celebrities (is a corporate CEO really a celebrity?) removes a lot of the luster.  If the weather is bad, it’s a torturous week.  I’m conflicted.  I want it to remain a pro-am; I stand firm on that.  But, yet, it’s undeniable the format lessens the event as a pure golf tournament.  But, hey, Pebble is in the “rota” for American majors, so the pro-am is bearable.  If they ever go away from the pro-am format, I hope it is after I’ve gone to the 19th Hole in the Sky.

Also in the field with Spieth are Jason Day and Ryan Ruffels.  Bubba’s there, too; I’m guessing it took another sponsor arm-twisting.  Frankly, it’s not a loaded field.  If not for Spieth and Day’s (plentiful) OWGR points, it would be quite a weak field.  Next week’s L.A. Open is always special.  After that comes the Florida swing, which is yet another of those “real start of the golf season” junctures.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Super Bowl Sunday Stuff

  1. Sports-realist. says:

    So today’s coverage will be PHIL, PHIL, PHIL ONLY 5 shots back, ONLY 8 shots back, ONLY 100 shots back…….Meanwhile, oh yeah, that Lee guy wins…..

    • lannyh says:

      I was thinking the same thing. You were onto something when you tipped Danny Lee a day or two ago. He’s been solid. I’d still like to see Rickie overtake him, but I don’t foresee Lee rolling over.

      • Sports-realist. says:

        I guess this is Lee’s first 54 hole lead, so we’ll see…..Perhaps the difference is Lee is supposedly friends with Rickie and so forth, so the ‘pressure’ in the final group will be different or less intense, esp since they already played together yesterday………

  2. Sports-realist. says:

    Lee doesn’t get much respect, because he’s not marketable like Fowler or Mickelson…I’ve noticed that with the wagering lines don’t respect Lee either….After Friday, Lee was a gigantic underdog, even though he was only 1 shot back….

    • Sports-realist. says:

      Lee hasn’t hit a quality shot with his irons through 3 holes….hmm

      • lannyh says:

        We jinxed him. Good to see Mickelson fall back; no offense, Phil, but it will improve the tournament coverage. I have the tourney on right now, with the volume off. Instead I’m listening to a Trump rally on a live stream.

      • Sports-realist. says:

        Ok, Lee you’ve hit EVERY iron shot long….Where is his caddie at??????

  3. Sports-realist. says:

    The coverage has been very obvious anti Lee, at this point…On the last two holes the pretend golf channel has NOT shown all Lee’s shots, while showing all of his TIED playing partners shot….

    • Sports-realist. says:

      uh make that 3 holes now….I mean seriously…

      • Sports-realist. says:

        I don’t believe in jinxes but cmon now lee has played like an amateur with his irons and short game to this point….3 over after 7 holes….

    • lannyh says:

      I say this with no agenda, no angle, no dog in the fight, but the American golf media noticeably consistently shortchanges Asian players. (With the exception of Michelle Wie.)

      • Sports-realist. says:

        why in the world do they leave coverage at 2:45 to show 15 minutes of the lamest sports report in the world on nbc? We’ve talked about this before, but now they are doing 15 minutes instead of showing golf?????? that’s retarded…well it is nbc..

      • Sports-realist. says:

        yeah but they are showing EVERY drive of Matsuyama’s…Just after both Fowler and Lee made birdies, they ONLY showed Fowler’s and Matsuyama’s drives? and Matsuyama is certainly asian…

  4. Sports-realist. says:

    just shows you golf is as much bs as it is skill…..aka fowlers chip in…

  5. lannyh says:

    Okay, so they show Peter Jacobson’s music video; I change channels. When I return, I find I have missed the Fowler chip-in. Later, they show the Olympic swimmer being interviewed — a placement ad for the Olympics on NBC this summer. Then, yeah, one of those “Sports Reports” that show hockey and Premiership soccer — oh, hey, what do you know, those are both on NBC networks. Toss Feherty and No. 16 into the mix, and I’m doing a lot of channel changing trying like heck to follow this tournament. This is no better than the Super Bowl pregame.

    • Sports-realist. says:

      yeah the nbc promos for ITSELF is just too thick…It really is lame…I never care for interviews, so I was flipping channels too…The JUMPING THE SHARK was the Peter Jacobsen’s relative thing…I mean if that doesn’t show you its WHO you know, as far as connections go…..

  6. Jaybird77 says:

    What did jalnichols do now?

  7. Jaybird77 says:

    What a dumb move by Rickie.

    • lannyh says:

      Yeah, if he knew that was a possibility. Because he didn’t need an eagle putt. A 12-foot birdie look was fine, really.

      Lowry made the green and had great eagle look using a 3-wood. (Although, I must admit the aforementioned jalnichols put out a tweet I stumbled upon saying Fowler has largest gap between driver and 3-wood on Tour or somesuch.)

      • Jaybird77 says:

        They said Rickie’s caddie said it was 265 to carry the bunker, something like 30 or so yards short of the green so he hit driver. If I have a 2 shot lead in that moment, I hit 7 iron, wedge, and walk away with par at the worst.

        Instead, playoff time.

  8. lannyh says:

    What Super Bowl?

    Oh, well, there’s another 37 minutes of pregame, and then some more delaying before the actual kickoff. Probably another 45 minutes to go.

  9. Sports-realist. says:

    this course just isn’t very tough….just a choke job by Lee, which surprised me, but again 1st time with 54 hole lead is the only excuse I can thing of…….
    Seriously, did JOHNNY MILLER ever watch or play golf before Tiger Woods? My gosh, they are talking about the two players sinking their birdie putts on 18, and Johnny says 10 minutes later, “yeah it reminded me of Tigers putt at bla, bla, bla”…..I mean does Miller realize what a horses azz he sounds like, when he talks a putt that looks similar to about 10 MILLION other putts in the history of golf, yet for some reason, just wants to kiss Eldricks azz? He just loses more and more interest from me with every broadcast….

    • Sports-realist. says:

      Fowler was -3 on the par 5’s, and Lee was EVEN on the par 5’s, and lost by 3 strokes……And these were not hard par 5’s, IF you just play like Zach Johnson…..

    • Sports-realist. says:

      I mean Miller played for years, saw Jack Nicklaus and the other greats, was pretty good himself for a while, but CONTINUES this nonsense that golf started in 1996…CMON Miller it’s over dude….

    • lannyh says:

      I haven’t heard a mention. I must be leaving the room at the right time.

  10. lannyh says:

    Time for one more hole, then it’s cutting into the Super Bowl. If golf is still going, I might flip over for the kickoff, then maybe listen to football on the radio.

    • Sports-realist. says:

      well the national anthem and coin toss take 15 minutes, so 6:30 is not the kickoff or when the ‘coverage’ starts….I hate pregame stuff so the rest of this should be seen before they actually kick off…

  11. Jaybird77 says:

    What a boring tournament.

    • Sports-realist. says:

      oh johnny…i think it’s time you retire dude..go take your eldrick blow up doll and close the door..thanks…

  12. Jaybird77 says:

    Rickie needs to reevaluate his game plan for #17.

    • lannyh says:

      No kidding.

      I feel a little at fault. I was switching back-and-forth and wasn’t there to put good karma on Rickie’s tee shot. My bad.

      I like Matsuyama, and normally would be pulling for him, but today I was for Rickie. And Cam. So the past 30 minutes of sports action has been no fun.

      • Jaybird77 says:

        I too like both but would have preferred Rickie win. For him to bogey the shortest, easiest, par 4 on the course twice in two tries is totally unacceptable.

      • Sports-realist. says:

        The carolina game plan was astonishing DULL…..They watched New England struggle, and yet I saw Newton just sitting in the pocket….This was by far the TWO most ugliest qb performances I’ve seen in a superbowl….both manning and newton sucked, and their o coordinators did little to help them…..no adjustment by carolina, and NEVER went to hurry up…..

      • lannyh says:

        The QB play was disappointing, sure, but that was more than offset by the prodigious output of the officials.

  13. Ken says:

    Not a loaded field at Pebble?

    They’ve got No. 1 Spieth, No. 3 Day, No. 6 Watson, No. 7 Rose, No. 8 D. Johnson, No. 9 Patrick Reed. And Snedeker who has a 2 and a 1 in his last two starts and is defending champ.

    • lannyh says:

      Okay, that’s a solid field. I saw a lot of Prides and Duvals and Dukes, so did not give it enough respect. Maybe it’s top heavy? In fairness to me, I mentioned Spieth and Day.

Leave a Reply

