Lanny H Golf To Go “Tiger-Free” in 2016

Lanny H Golf is going “Tiger-free” in 2016.  A reader tells me we should not do this, that there is a need for balance against the tigerstream golf media.

But here’s the thing: Tiger Woods discussions bore me and have bored me for a long time.  My fun comes from embarrassing the Yay-Tiger golf media.  Or making Hank Haney answer for his naivety (or coverup).  Or forcing PGATour.com to remove Woods from their headline photo.  (As always, Emily Kay deserves the credit for bringing up that issue.)  There were several moments like that, and there will continue to be — if something of substance arises.

I have to be honest with both my readers and myself.  I have zero interest in hearing the same tedious, repetitive foodfights over Tiger Woods again and again and again.

And again and again and again.  And again and again and again.  I had way more fun last year with jalnichols and the Euro Seven thing than any Tiger Woods topic.

We have already pointed out every falsehood and cover-up, every piece of misinformation and propaganda.  We have already pointed out the bias of the media (even if we don’t fully understand it).  Am I supposed to be “outraged” that that CBS shows Tiger Woods and his kids so much at Augusta?  That is obviously just one more attempt — one of a million — to revive Woods’s moribund image.  At this point, do I really need to point them out?

It’s common knowledge the golf media is a PR machine for Tiger Woods.

I wrote an article comparing the golf media to infamous Nazi propagandist Joseph Goebbels (“Tiger Woods vs. Adolph Hitler (parts 1 and 2)“).  I wrote that three-and-a-half years ago, and I stand by every word I wrote.  What else needs to be said?

Go do a Google News search on “Huff Post Sarah Palin.”  Seven years after Palin was last relevant, Huffington Post continues to churn out article after article after article about Sarah Palin.  The Kardashians continue to be “famous” and dominate entertainment/celebrity news.

Feeding the cattle, as the L.A. Times reporter once put it.

So, tell me, am I expected to “weigh in” on Tiger Woods being named assistant captain or whatever for Davis Love III at the Ryder Cup?  I don’t even care about the Ryder Cup, and I’ve never given one thought to an “assistant captain” in my life.  Am I suddenly supposed to join in a “debate” about whether or not this was “a wise choice” or “good for golf” or if it will “re-energize Tiger”?  Tiger Woods can move to the Australian Outback and live with dingos and I wouldn’t give a crap.  I can’t imagine the coverage of the Kardashians is any stupider than the coverage of Woods.  Just because some idiot thinks Woods and/or the Kardashians are fascinating doesn’t mean I must.

I want no part of it.  Woods being banned from the Hall of Fame for PEDS… that would be news.  Woods finishing T17 at Greenbrier, Woods being named assistant captain for Ryder Cup… get the hell away from me.  That’s clownish and I have no time for it.  My angle has always been to shine a light on the idiocy, the dishonesty, the corruption, in the golf media.  However, at this point, even that is repetitive.

Anyone desiring a Tiger Woods foodfight can go to golfchannel.com.  They’ll continue pushing out Tiger Woods articles long after the Huffington Post tires of Sarah Palin.

[Disclaimer: I still plan to create a Tiger Woods PED FAQ, and I still plan to publish my “Lucy Li vs Tiger Woods” years-in-the-making epic.  The latter is not really about Tiger Woods, but he is mentioned several times.]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Lanny H Golf To Go “Tiger-Free” in 2016

  1. JoseyWales says:

    Wow…13 paragraphs and 650 words all about Tiger Woods. I had almost forgot him but thanks for reminding me!

    • lannyh says:

      That’s the kind of “I’m mad at you about Tiger and want to argew” comment we won’t be seeing next year.

      • JoseyWales says:

        You mean all comments mentioning Tiger will be deleted next year?

      • lannyh says:

        I am going to look to see if I can filter based on terms within the text. If possible, yes. I won’t delete them, but they will go to “Hold” until they can be cleaned up. I don’t want anyone to lose a great post just because they forgot and accidentally mentioned Tiger Woods. I would never let that happen here.

  2. Mr Merrick says:

    I disagree. Under normal circumstances I might agree. But Woods is on a platform created by his father and the exalted position has never been denied by Woods.., namely , he would have a greater influence on nations than the likes of Gandhi and Mandela to change the course of history.
    Woods name should be kept in the conversation as a reminder of the negative side of sport and human behavior.

    • lannyh says:

      Remind who? Everyone knows. I’d rather focus on the guys who can remind us that honor and dignity still have a place in sports.

      Jordan, Jason, Rickie, Rory.

      Just to be safe, though, I’ll write an article entitled, “Looking Back, A Reminder: What Tiger Woods Taught Us About the Negative Side of Sports.” Look for it in 2026.

  3. Mr Merrick says:

    New generations of golfers and sports lovers are always emerging. In the same way pupils need to be taught history the Woods story needs to be told and retold. The reader can select what they desire to read.

  4. TruthTeller says:

    Good move. Too often sports fans hold on to their “hereos” too long. Look at MJ, Kobe, Favre, Jeter just to name a few. All greats of their generations that people talk(ed) about way past the time it was to move on. Last year was that time for TW but the media, and many golf fans, continued to hold on to TW all through this year.

    It was 2 years ago that I said this is how it would play out. If Tiger had a 2015 like 2014, 2016 would be the year people start to move on. Looks like Lanny’s following my prediction. The media won’t be as quick of course but I think you’ll start to notice it.

  5. JoseyWales says:

    Lanny…for 2016, you could make “Tiger Woods” into a swear word or profanity. Just delete both words anytime they come up around here. That would make life easier.

  6. Ken says:

    This is a good idea. Not to ban any mention of Tiger Woods, but treat him like any other player. If he’s playing well with a shot to win, talk about him. Otherwise (and far more likely), talk about the contenders like Spieth, McIlroy, etc.

  7. JoseyWales says:

    Breaking News!
    Spieth grouped with Lahiri to open Hero title defense.
    Hero World Challenge to benefit the Tiger Woods Foundation being played this week in the Bahamas. Tiger Woods press conference today at 1pm est!

  8. Mr Merrick says:

    I believe Woods remains a legitimate target. Woods is a business partner of this man. Should he not distance himself, or does his inherent greed help him ignore thi abhorrent behavior?

  9. JoseyWales says:

    “Adam Fonseca is back with another interview: Stephanie Wei. I’ll comment later.”

    when?

    • lannyh says:

      Haha, thanks for holding me to my word. In this case, I don’t have to feel bad about it, either. I listened and made notes this afternoon. I’ll try to write it up tomorrow. It should be fun to do so. Among other things, I’ve got questions Fonseca should have asked, and questions I would have asked. I also have some comments on the USGA handicap thing, but I believe I’ll make it a separate piece on Fonseca’s TWIGB. Anyway, it will be posted soon, I promise.

  10. JoseyWales says:

    “I still plan to create a Tiger Woods PED FAQ”
    better hurry…the irrelevance clock is ticking…

Leave a Reply

