Thursday Coca-Cola Super Bowl Semi Live Blog (Spieth seeking to wrap up SI Sportsman of the Year award)

1:30 pm Update:  Happy Stuff Only

Nothing but happy stuff this update:

  • Nobilo on the mic for this afternoon’s play!  I won’t have to turn it off!  Nobilo possesses a Tiger Woods Circle Jerk “Get out of jail free” card, so even if he goes off the deep end, I can ride it out.
  • Gary Van Sickle is rapidly becoming my favorite golf writer.  And not just because he read yesterday’s Sportsman of the Year article and sent me two Twitter comments about it, but because he seems to be unafraid of the truth.  Or acerbic commentary.  I will try to make a list of some examples in the next day or two.
  • Hunter Mahan was so upset about missing his first FedEx Cup playoff event that he is… playing the Porsche European Open in Germany.  T-7 after round one.
  • Jordan Spieth, in my opinion, can clinch the Sports Illustrated Sportsman of the Year award with a win this week.  That makes his round today must-see television.  (And did I mention Nobilo is on the mic…)

12:04 pm Update:  Thanks to a two-minute intro, it took three minutes for Kelly Tilghman to mention Tiger Woods.  Too funny.  Golf Channel is pushing away people who love golf.  I’m just not going to watch any more of their nonsense.

7:02 am: I turned on Morning Drive to get the latest from Atlanta.  Two minutes into the show, Damon “Woods Winning the Wyndham Would Be the Biggest Story of the Year” Hack brought up Tiger Woods.  I turned it off.  I’ll try again when Pregame starts; I’m sure I’ll last another two minutes then.  Golf Channel might as well run a test pattern when they aren’t doing live coverage of golf tournaments.

5:55 am: The date all golf fans have marked on their calendars: Super Bowl Thursday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

