Thursday Canadian Open Barely-A-Live Blog

Final Update:  I didn’t watch any of the golf coverage.  I saw three minutes at the end of the Euro event in Switzerland, then three minutes of Morning Drive.  That’s it.  I have checked the Canadian Open leaderboard.  The good:  Jason Day shot -4, and Emiliano Grillo shot -8 and actually leads.  Grillo started great last week in the alternate event in Alabama, but fell off on the weekend.  It’d be a real feather in the cap of the PGA Tour if Grillo played here.  He’s not really a Euro, but rather is from Argentina.  So he’s playing closer to his home time zone.  The bad news… Graeme McDowell shot +3.

Lanny Needs Racism Lessons:  Okay, I am dead serious about this.  I have learned two things today I did not know (from the comments section at the Gary Player article at CBS).  (1) Michelle Wie is the child of two Korean parents. (2) Derek Jeter is black.  I always thought Wie was Native Hawaiian, and that Jeter was white, perhaps of Italian descent.  I looked it up; the commenters are correct.

Admittedly, I haven’t followed baseball for decades, but Jeter is incredibly famous, and I well know who he is and what he looks like.  How could I have missed that?  Am I the only person in the world who didn’t know this?  Should I feel badly, or should I feel proud?

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., taught us to judge people by the content of their character, not the color of their skin, but that idea is hopelessly out of fashion now.  I better abandon it.

How do you think Bubba Watson feels about this?  Emily Kay at SB Nation brought the matter up a couple of weeks ago.  This collage of photos dominates the main page for “Players” at PGATour.com:

pgaphotRidiculous.  OWGR #246 gets as much space as #1 and #2 and three others combined.  (Notice how prominent the Nike “swoosh” is on Woods’s driver.  I wonder if Woods’s photo is a placement ad; my guess is that it is.)

11:10 am  Camera Cussin’  Remember how when Tiger Woods would have a meltdown, lose all self-control, and start cussin’ and poutin’?  People would say — Internet commenters, yes, but also paid golf reporters — “Oh, but they all do it!  It’s just that Tiger has a camera on him constantly.”  Well, no one in the history of the world has had a camera on him more than Jordan Spieth.  I feel like an eavesdropper because the networks show so much of Jordan and Greller’s discussions.  Yet I’ve never once heard him curse.  Not once.  Another myth BUSTED!!

7:05 am  Coming off the British Open, it’s hard for me to get enthused about golf.  I just now caught the tail end of the Euro Tour event; it’s in Switzerland; the location looked beautiful; I’ll try to catch some of that before the weekend is over.  As for the Canadian Open, I’m for Jason Day and Graeme McDowell (who is going after his sixth national open).

I repeat my appeal:  If anyone can tell me where I can find the PGA Tour total prize money by year, I would really appreciate it.  It’s important to a major project I have undertaken.  I have contacted the PGA Tour, but they have not responded.  (I fear I have a certain notoriety among golf’s movers and shakers.  “Movers and shakers”?  Who am I kidding?   Sitters and tremblers.)

I lasted all of three minutes with Morning Drive.  Faux happy Blondie is mic’ed too loud, for one thing, and Charlie Rymer started immediately talking about Tiger Woods* at the Canadian Open, so I turned it off.  Someone here referred to Morning Drive as having gone “Today Show.”  That sums it up.  How did we go from Williams and Kuselias sitting in front of mics talking about golf to what we have now.

* Rymer is still pushing Woods on the audience even though:

  1. Woods is not playing this week.
  2. Woods missed the cut last week.
  3. Woods has earned a grand total of 13.05 OWGR points in the past twelve months — for a T-17, a T-32, and finishing 17th in an 18-man field.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Thursday Canadian Open Barely-A-Live Blog

  1. Sports-realist2 says:

    At least for now CBS has taken off their ‘tiger woods’ from their golf page Titles…..I’m surprised the golf channel never developed an “Eldrick” show…I mean it couldn’t be any worst than ALTERED COURSE…
    It really is time for Morning Drive to be revamped or just removed….I don’t watch it anyway, but the personalities are just SO uninteresting…..Granted the MLB network and NFL network all try and do a similar ‘Today Show’ thing, and they are ALL equally boring and uninteresting…..

    • lannyh says:

      I would say revamped. I like to watch it from time to time. That’s good news about CBS, but I just saw PGA Tour is still five years behind. I’m going to upload a screenshot…

  2. JoseyWales says:

    Before Morning Drive, the morning time slot on Golf Channel was used for infomercials for such a long time. Evidently Morning Drive has become more profitable for GC than running Super Beta Prostate ads over and over again (and less annoying, but not by much). MD averages between 40,000-60,000 viewers per hour, spiking up when there is a big tournament that week (138,000 during US Open Week…95,000 during Masters Week). I am assuming MD is very cheap to produce (in studio, cheap talent, etc.) In launching Morning Drive, the Golf Channel merely did what every other network did…copy the Today Show or Mike & Mike and call it their own. The folks at Golf Channel have never been the most creative bunch…on nearly every “show” they have done, the format has been copied, stolen or plagiarized from someone else.

    • lannyh says:

      Wow, those numbers are surprisingly low. (I’m also really surprised they don’t get more viewers during majors week; I would have thought they did great then.) I much preferred the old Two Men and a Jiggly Girl (Holly) format they started with. Something more like the Mike and Mike show on ESPN. You know, they could even take calls from viewers. That would be cool; allow us to call in and criticize the Tiger Woods obsession.

      • Sports-realist2 says:

        Even if they took calls, you’d have to trick the switchboard people to get on the show…If you called in and said I want to talk about Eldrick’s steroid use, you’d never get on….Even if you got on, and you started asking about the hypocrisy of the media towards Eldrick, they’d use that 10 second delay, and pretend that your phone connection suddenly stopped…
        What would actually be an EASIER way of doing something like this, would to be to have an international sponsor, who is unaffected by Eldrick and friends……As I’ve said on here before, a ‘youtube’ channel dedicated to golf, could be effective…..
        You’d probably end up getting a phone call from Steinberg, telling you he’d give you a few million to go on an extended vacation….
        Wow, only, 40,000-60,000 viewers? That is terrible….Heck, some youtube channels get more hits, then the golf channel is getting….

  3. DanishDude says:

    While searching, without success, for the total prize money per year I stumbled over this:

    http://golfblogger.com/analyzing_increase_in_pga_tour_purses/

    • lannyh says:

      Thanks for looking. I really appreciate it. And thanks for the link; I’m heading to read it right now!

      • DanishDude says:

        It’s a bit old, from 2008 I guess, but still relevant..

      • lannyh says:

        I well know that article! It’s the one that first opened my eyes! I’m re-reading it now. Very well done. I like the term “article of faith” he used: “It’s become an article of faith that Tiger Woods has single handedly revived golf’s flagging fortunes, turning it into the multi-billion dollar industry that it is today.”

        I often bring up NASCAR when discussing the issue of “Woods made all golfers rich,” and this article is the source for that information.

        You’d think a Golf Digest or SI/Golf would see an article such as this one and think, “Hey, this could be a block-buster of a story,” but, alas, they prefer the “mantra” that “Tiger is responsible for skyrocketing PGA Tour purses.”

        I can’t remember if I did it, or if I got the information (or idea) from another article, but another thing I added to the comparison is the value of NFL franchises. I thought that was a fair comparison, and they ranked up there with NASCAR and NCAA basketball.

        That’s such an excellent article. The guy was very even-handed. He looked at a lot of possible explanations and did not seem to be pushing a narrative or agenda.

  4. Ken says:

    I heard Jordan curse once. It was during a tournament last year when he was struggling down the stretch. I can’t remember where, Torrey Pines maybe? Maybe not. Anyway, he was in a real funk the last six holes or so and shot himself out of a good chance to win. He did say “shit” once. He apologized for his overall behavior after the round.

  5. Ken says:

    http://sports.yahoo.com/news/why-tiger-woods-impact-todays-152129346.html

    This is timely: “Why Tiger Woods’ impact on today’s huge PGA Tour cash prizes is not as big as people think it is”

  6. Bird says:

    Re PGAT prize money appeal, I believe Yahoo Sports has what you’re looking for from 1977, if you don’t mind adding all the tournament purses for each year.
    http://sports.yahoo.com/golf/pga/schedule?season=1985

    • lannyh says:

      Thanks. I’ve actually started doing that. Wiki has it in a spreadsheet format I could cut-and-paste into Excel, so I started doing that. The problem is that Wiki only has “total purse” for some years; other years have the just the winner’s prize.

      I stumbled upon those Yahoo ones last night, and they seem to be complete, but I had to enter it all by hand (using the Wiki entry for a given year as a template).

      I’ll try to cut and paste one of the Yahoo lists and see if maybe there is an easy way to clean it up.

      The Business Insider article, though, covers the topic I was going to address, so I don’t feel it’s quite as urgent for me to get mine out there. I think I’m going to compile it all, regardless, so I’ll have it for the future. You see cherry-picked dates and you just KNOW there’s a reason they stopped and started when they did. I’ll be able to check if I have a complete list.

      Thanks, again.

    • lannyh says:

      That’s probably my best bet. I can feed those numbers into a Wiki framework in about 10-15 minutes per year. If I do a handful each day, I’ll have them done before long.

  7. Pingback: Lanny’s Very Smart Golf Brain | Lanny H Golf

Leave a Reply

