Rory Ruptures Ankle Ligament; “Total rupture of left ATFL (ankle ligament) and associated joint capsule damage in a soccer kickabout with friends on Saturday.”

From the BBC: Rory McIlroy sustains major ankle injury ahead of Open.

Here’s Rory’s Instagram announcement.

My immediate reaction is one of aggravation.  I don’t think this happens without all the weight-training bullshite of the past couple of years.  The golf industry pushes players to become bodybuilders so the equipment manufacturers can delay the recognition that today’s distance increases come from “improved” clubs and balls, not “more athletic players.”  (And who the hell every thought of Arnold Schwarzenegger as an “athlete,” anyway?)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rory Ruptures Ankle Ligament; “Total rupture of left ATFL (ankle ligament) and associated joint capsule damage in a soccer kickabout with friends on Saturday.”

  1. GolfFitness says:

    We know, or at least should know, that bodybuilders make terrible golfers. Why? Easy. They are way too pumped up and have very little flexibility, which is what you need in golf. It’s not about being a bodybuilder or athletic, it’s about being flexible and physically fit.

    We should also know that equipment has had a big hand in the distance increases but that by itself doesn’t get the results we are seeing. It’s a combination of the equipment and flexibility/being physically fit. Now sure you’ve got some guys like Daly and Stads who aren’t the epitome of physical fitness but they do have quite a bit of flexibility which allowed them to be successful.

    Personally, during the best 3 year stretch of golf I played, I was going to the gym at least 4 days a week and my workout was pretty basic. 30-40 minutes of cardio followed by 30-40 minutes of weights but focusing on core exercises. Not coincidentally I picked up nearly 2 clubs with my irons and about 20 yards off the tee.

    Like Tiger, Rory seems to have pushed it too far and now he got hurt. Besides, you think after his rehab he’s going to stop exercising? Of course not.

    • lannyh says:

      The dead lifts some of these guys are doing, including Rory, I just can’t see how those are beneficial. So much compression on the spine.

      And medical science changes 180 on things all the time. What is considered wise today may be considered stupid in ten years. I would suggest the history of statins and cholesterol as an example. I recently read a NY Times article (I think it was) about about how people were counseled for so long to “control the cholesterol in your diet.” Turns out it doesn’t really matter. (That’s a quick summary from memory, so don’t anyone make any diet decision based on my comment.) Lots of money to be made from health clubs and the fitness industry, just like from diet books and manufacturers of statins.

      Flexibility and some light weight training would seem prudent to me. I can’t help but thind in Rory’s case, someone determined that happy-go-lucky pudgy guy wasn’t as marketable as “golf athlete.”

      Correlation and causation can be tricky. I know when I’ve gone through periods of heavy weight training, I tended to eat better. I didn’t want to undo all the pain of the workouts by, say, eating cookies. Also, if you are in the gym working out, you aren’t out with the lads closing down a pub.

      I’m not a total luddite when it comes to “modern training methods,” but I’m a skeptic. (I’m a skeptic about pretty much everything, though…)

      • GolfFitness says:

        I understand the “get rid of the pudgy guy” look but it certainly didn’t require the amount of weight training he was doing.

        Using myself as an example, during that time I mentioned, I went from a pudgy (okay fat) 165lb. guy at the beginning (I’m about Rory’s height) to a svelte 145lbs (about what Rory looks like now although not as “ripped”) about 2-3 months into all the exercising. And, as I said, I was not doing squats and dead-lifts and all those heavy weight activities.

  2. Ken says:

    I totally agree that being huge isn’t important for a golfer. Look at Justin Thomas. 145 pounds and hits it 320. You need to be flexible. I don’t think muscles do anything for golf. Davis Love was the longest hitter on tour when he came out, and he never appeared to have any muscle tone.

    That being said, anyone can get hurt playing soccer.

    • LifeHappens says:

      Hell, you can get hurt doing just about anything. A guy I know was doing some yard work recently. Ended up tripping over some landscape rock, jammed his shoulder, and now he has to have surgery and will be out 6-8 months. And this dude literally plays everyday! Okay, technically not literally but he does play over 300 rounds a year so, yeah, pretty much everyday it’s not raining or below freezing.

  3. ToughGuy says:

    I’m reminded of the “Tiger playing soccer with his kids” story a few months back. He seemed to be able to play soccer without getting hurt.

Leave a Reply

