Oberholser Responds

olber2Give Oberholser (and Chamblee last week) credit for replying.  Far less visible golf reporters/analysts have refused.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Oberholser Responds

  1. Ken says:

    Maybe he’ll say that he was frustrated talking to his wife/girlfriend or someone else on his cell. “Jesus. Coming home.”

  2. Kris says:

    It’s a shame he didn’t go back and watch the video. It sounded like his voice, and if he heard it in context he probably would’ve been able to shed a little light on the subject. You got a reply, which is better than nothing. As a side note, who spells their kid’s name Arron?

    • lannyh says:

      I had a heck of a time spelling both his first and last names!

      Honestly, and I was going to wait to see if anyone else made this point, but I’ll go ahead, honestly, his denial was kind of odd. If you asked me if I said that, I’d laugh and say, “No. That’s not the kind of thing I would ever say. If it was me, you must have misheard.”

      His answer was more like, “I don’t remember saying that, but it’s a really common thing people say.”

      I hope I’m not exaggerating or analyzing incorrectly, but that’s how it struck me. I, too, hope he goes and listens for the reason you pointed out. You’d think he’d be curious enough to spend a minute or two to do that.

    • Kris says:

      See, my reaction to Arron’s response was the exact opposite. I read it as “I have no idea what you’re talking about. I did not and would not say that.” Obviously our opinions are influencing our interpretation.

      • lannyh says:

        Well, it wasn’t, “Hell, no, I didn’t say that.” “I don’t remember saying it” is a fairly slippery denial. But… I’m open to the possibility that he just typed the first thing that came to mind, and that he is certain he didn’t say it. But… someone said it! I think it’s pretty clear that what was said was “Jesus… coming home.” What other sensible thing could it be? I’m open to having misheard it, but others report the same thing. Of course there are song lyrics I’ve had wrong for 20 years…

  3. JoseyWales says:

    Lanny…the interview has been deleted at Golf Channel website…very suspicious…

    • lannyh says:

      I was wondering if they would do that!!! I’m glad I made an audio copy!

    • lannyh says:

      I’ll put it up at YouTube with a title like “Golf Channel Mocks Jordan Spieth.” It’ll get a billion views.

      Now, if only I can find my YouTube account name and password. Golf something or other…

    • lannyh says:

      I guess before I go upload to YouTube, I should give GC a chance to explain. I mean, it might be someone totally unrelated who did it.

    • lannyh says:

      Too many of us have heard/seen it for them to deny it happened. So if they took it down, they own us an explanation.

    • Kris says:

      I used the link you posted yesterday and it worked fine for me a couple minutes ago. I listened to it again and I still don’t here the M sound at the end of the last word. I hear a T sound, then what sounds like rustling papers or someone opening a bottle of water. I think you guys are reading way too much into this.

  4. JoseyWales says:

    Not trying to stir the pot… couldn’t bring it up on my PC…

    • lannyh says:

      No problem. I was just joking. I have listened over and over to a small audio clip. I still hear, “Jesus… coming home.” Unless someone can tell me different, I don’t know what else it could be that makes logical sense. I’m not saying there is nothing else, but something like, “Jesus… come in hon'” doesn’t make any sense in that context.

    • Sports-realist2 says:

      Oh, so now Josey is denying there wasn’t a pot stirred? very suspicious……

      • Sports-realist2 says:

        Seriously though…am I the only one who finds that Oberholser guy ‘mean spirited’?

      • lannyh says:

        I honestly don’t know much about him. I tend to watch Golf Channel in the morning, and I think he tends to be on in the afternoon and nights.

Leave a Reply

