“Jesus, Coming Home” : The final straw for Golf Media?

After Jordan Spieth’s press conference, as he was getting up to leave, a voice came across the Golf Channel telecast saying in a mocking tone, it sounded like to me, “Jesus, coming home.”

If anyone else heard this (or, better yet, has the ability to replay it), please confirm.  Thanks.

[Note: Someone confirmed it!  Maybe it was said by a media member not part of Golf Channel, so I’m going to change the wording in the title of this article from “Golf Channel” to “Golf Media.”]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to “Jesus, Coming Home” : The final straw for Golf Media?

  1. Hilarious says:

    Ha! Know idea where it came from, and don’t know about the mocking tone, but that was definitely said!

    • lannyh says:

      Oh, man, thanks for the confirmation!

      • Hilarious says:

        Had it on but wasn’t really paying attention so I rewound the DVR and played it a couple times and…..clear as day!

      • lannyh says:

        Thanks! I really appreciate it! Is there any way you could upload it to YouTube (or somewhere)? Maybe that’s too much trouble. The important thing is that you have definitely confirmed it. Maybe it’s not Golf Channel. I should probably adjust what I wrote.

    • lannyh says:

      I was starting to doubt myself. It didn’t come from the stage. I guess someone could have said it into the press mic? Somebody needs to be fired.

      It struck me as some kind of an insult aimed at Jordan because he was so polite to the lady when she wished him luck. I think we need to throw out the entire golf media and start anew.

      • Hilarious says:

        Have since flipped channels so I don’t have it anymore.

      • lannyh says:

        Oh, well, no big deal. The main thing is you heard it and confirmed it. I started wondering if maybe I misheard or something. Thanks again. I owe you. In fact, I’m going to give you a free year — no, make it two! — of access to Lanny H Golf.

  2. JoseyWales says:

    Lanny…so much of this junk goes on…if the public only knew how arrogant and insolent the golf media really is they would be outraged.

    • lannyh says:

      If they replay it, they’ll cut it out. I tried to find a stream online because it seems like that runs a few minutes behind, but I hadn’t used it in forever and couldn’t find it. At least two of us heard it — and one replayed it to confirm what he heard! We can’t be the only ones. I would like to find out what happened. I can’t think of any situation where making that comment was not meant to be insulting. And I suspect it was aimed at Jordan.

  3. Kris says:

    It sounded like Arron Oberholser didn’t realize his mic was on. He did exclaim Jesus, but I don’t think he was sarcastically referring to Jordan as Jesus. The third word sounded like “hot” to me, so knowing Arron, he was probably complaining about sitting outside in a suit. I don’t know if it means anything, but he said something on twitter about having sound issues during that broadcast, too. I don’t think it was as nefarious as you’re making it out to be, unless you’re offended by blasphemy.

    • lannyh says:

      Interesting that you guys ID’d Oberhauser. I don’t know his voice well enough. I just looked at the tweet; I think that must be about him getting tongue-tied on air; I don’t recall that.

      I don’t think it was anything like, “Jesus, it’s hot in here!” because, it was said with great faux gravity. Jesus (pause), coming home, With a lowering of the voice on the final syllable.

      How certain are you guys that it is Oberhauser? I don’t mind tweeting him to ask about it, but I don’t want to ask if it’s not him. (Though, if he was hosting during that time, he’s probably as good as anyone. I’d ask at the GC website, but I don’t have an account there. (Not that they’d answer. I could use my Twitter account, I suppose, but I have not commented there in about five years.) Maybe I could try the general “Golf Channel” twitter account.

      • Kris says:

        It was Oberholser by process of elimination. None of the mics in the media center were that loud, so it had to be someone at the Golf Channel desk. There were only 3 people, Ryan Burr, Arron Oberholser, and John Feinstein. Feinstein has a distinct voice, so it definitely wasn’t him. It didn’t sound like Burr either, and he starting talking too quickly after the phrase was said. That only leaves Olberholser. I think you should ask him about it, because I’m curious what he said and what he meant.

      • lannyh says:

        You got it! I’ll give Golf Channel a chance to respond, and if they don’t, I’ll ask him directly. Thanks!

  4. Pingback: The Lanny Awards for Golf Journalism | Lanny H Golf

Leave a Reply

