Friday, Day Two: Euro PGA, Colonial Semi Live Blog

10:00 pm Final Update:  What a disappointing day.  I figured with both Rory and Spieth playing, one of them would make the weekend worthwhile.  For some reason, today seemed like Saturday, too, which caused me to feel out of kilter.  Anyway, time will tell if Jordan gets hot and Na stumbles a bit.  If not, I’m sure some other stories will pop up.  Poulter is of decent interest.  Grillo is near the top in Europe.  Something almost always pops up.  But I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t disappointed.

1:00 pm Update: Spieth goes through the Horrible Horseshoe in +4, threatening to completely ruin my weekend.  Jordan, you know you can’t go right on No. 5.  That’s the Trinity River on the other side of those trees.

Oh, well, Poulter would make for an amusing winner, after what Rickie did in the wake of Overratedgate.  And Esteban Toledo is tied for the lead at this Senior Tour thing.  I’ve told his story before; he’s probably my favorite Senior Tour player.  Besides, Jordan isn’t out of it.  He just backed up a little.  In a way, I like that Rory misses cuts.  It hurts him in the OWGR, but it also points out that missing or making cuts is not any kind of useful measuring rod; Rory wasn’t going to contend in any event.  Might as well go get ready for the Irish Open.

I noticed this morning Google’s Top News Stories had “Rory McIlroy” listed.  Google’s Top Sports Stories had “Jordan Spieth” listed.  The times, they already a-changed.

10:50 am Update: Rory stinking it up and likely to miss the cut.  Next up is three hours of Senior Tour golf, where Faldo is stinking it up and likely to miss the cut.  Thank Goodness for Jordan Spieth!  But his round will long be over by the time GC covers Colonial.

Rory kind of reinforced my point about Wentworth when he hooked a drive into the woods and it went OB.  That’s how it should be.  Too many courses allow you to hit that drive then play a clear shot from an adjoining fairway.

9:50 am Update: Spieth and Rory are on the course at the same time today — separated by an ocean (and then some).  Rory +1 after three holes.  Jordan tees off in 16 minutes.  Something occurs to me.  ETP isn’t doing the Euro PGA broadcast.  Gannon and Nobilo are doing a good job, but come on, no one tops ETP.

8:24 am Update:  The Daily Mail reports “a record first-day Wentworth attendance of 21,000.”  The Brits must not have got the memo that golf would die without Tiger Woods.

8:08 am Update:  Rory going with bright orange pants today.  Expect the American media to ask if he is “sending a message to Rickie Fowler.”  I’m glad when players wear distinguishing colors; it makes viewing so much easier.  While on the subject of McIlroy, have you noticed he’s going through a growth spurt?  He is now 5′ 10″; he was 5′ 8″ not long ago.

6:05 am Update:  Jargon Alert: Nothing moves the needle like a rivalry.  Jordan Spieth created a buzz by taking the lead at Colonial and sending a message to Rory McIlory that…   Okay, sorry, I better be careful or Golf Channel or Golf Digest will try to hire me.

Rory tees off in a little under two hours.  I’m liking this near around-the-clock live golf coverage.  We’re already into the second hour of Euro PGA coverage.  Three of Euro Seven are in the top ten at Wentworth, which is the strongest tourney of the week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Friday, Day Two: Euro PGA, Colonial Semi Live Blog

  1. Kris says:

    The BMW PGA coverage feels like a hybrid between regular European Tour coverage and Golf Channel coverage. The folks Golf Channel sent are doing a good job. I have a special place in my heart for Terry Gannon as we share an alma mater. It’s shocking how the golfers with dual cards play so well in the US and then go home and completely embarrass themselves. Sergio did it last week and Rory is doing it now. I can’t figure it out.

    The Crowne Plaza invitational is getting the shaft this week. Limited coverage and 2nd string analysts. Nearly everyone calling that tournament lives in the Dallas area, so maybe it was a way to offset the cost of sending people to England.

    • lannyh says:

      I wish they had let the European Tour Productions guys handle it, but I’m not going to complain much, because 8 hours a day is more than I could have hoped for. Gannon is my favorite play-by-play/host announcer. I must confess I don’t know where he went to college, but I’m about to go look it up. My favorite color analyst would be Faldo. I think Gannon/Faldo is the best in golf, and Nantz/Faldo is second best.

      • Sports-realist2 says:

        I don’t get all the ‘Gannon love’…Personally, I think he adds very little to the coverage, and he certainly can’t add alot from a golf experience point of view….He just seems to be another over the top ‘azz kisser’ to eldrick’s rear….Nance to me at least has recently made alot more comments about ‘moving on’ from the Eldrick days, while the others are still stuck in the past……I give Nance alot of credit for doing what almost NO ONE else is doing in making these type of comments…

      • lannyh says:

        I like Gannon’s low-key style. And I’m okay with Nantz, too; I’m just saying, right now, I prefer Faldo/Gannon to Faldo/Nantz. Maybe it’s because Nantz does weekends on CBS where the broadcast is aimed more at “casual golf fans.” Maybe it’s because Feherty is usually not there except for weekends.

        That said, Nantz really did rise in my estimation when he made the comments in the press about Rory one day having won 20 majors and the golf media asking him, “Do you think you’re ready to take the torch?” That was really good stuff that no one else seems willing to say.

    • lannyh says:

      Okay, Gannon went to NC State and was on that famous national championship basketball team? I would not have guessed that in a thousand years. I always assumed he was a nerdy sports fan type who went to journalism school to be come a Bob Costas. He doesn’t come across as any kind of egotistical jock; I really like his lowkey manner.

      • Kris says:

        He talks about it a lot, especially when Carl Pettersson or Tim Clark are playing. I have no idea what he got his degree in, but Terry Gannon was an essential member of the Cardiac Pack. He’s little but he was great because he was quick, he could make long range baskets and he didn’t mind getting fouled. He played basketball in Europe for a little while, but eventually couldn’t cut it. Jimmy V told him to hang it up and be a broadcaster, so that’s what he did. He calls a whole bunch of different sports including figure skating and horse racing. The 30 for 30 on the 1983 NCAA championship debuted during the 2013 Solheim Cup. He plugged it during the event which led to him and Judy Rankin talking about their glory days, which was fantastic. Faldo and Gannon together is by far my favorite broadcast pairing. Them at the desk and Phil Parkin walking the course is a guaranteed good time.

  2. Speedy says:

    Flat tires for Rors and Spieth. OK now, who’s the next Messiah? haha

  3. TrueGolfFan says:

    Gotta admit I was a happy camper when Lanny Wadkins got the boot from the booth a few years back (replaced with Faldo who is great) but having listened to some of this year’s broadcast, he seems to have gotten much better.

    • Sports-realist2 says:

      agreed….Lanny is a bold/brash announcer, in that he ‘calls em like he sees em’ type of analyst….Esp that he’s a former PGA winner/player, he doesn’t seem to care as much about ‘kissing up’ to other players as other former announcers do…..

      • TrueGolfFan says:

        Yeah, my deal was he was generally very critical of players. When a dude hit a decent shot that only got to like 20 feet, he was like “not very good there”. He acted like anything that wasn’t in the fairway or within 10 feet of the hole was a gawd awful shot. Was quite annoying. Not the case now.

Leave a Reply

