Wednesday Thoughts

Special Afternoon Supplement:

There are three great paragraphs about Woods’s betrayal of Vonn (and fans, really) at the Telegraph of London.  Normally, I excerpt these things, but every word is worth reading, and I can’t really copy-and-paste the entire thing here.  But, trust me, it’s worth reading.  Scroll down until you see the big photo of Woods and Vonn.  Key phrases…. “public relations overdrive”… “paraded Vonn and kids”….  No-kid-gloves stuff.

How much longer can Golf Digest, Golf Channel and SI/Golf keep their heads in the sand?  This story is not going away.  Check this out from the National Enquirer:

Cheapskate TIGER WOODS is begging his ex to take him back – so he can save a whopping $54 million!

“Tiger has been sweet-talking Elin in texts, emails and calls in an attempt to wriggle out of a multi-million dollar payment he’s due to make to her in January 2016,” said the source.

I recommend reading the whole thing.  It mentions several other interesting points, such as Elin’s desire for Woods to simply pay off his debt, and how the kids might feel after the Vonn split.

Update II  2:20 pm:

The View Scoops Golf Channel, Golf Digest, and SI/Golf.

Golf Digest continues to ignore the Vonn story while doing their part to aid the Woods PR assault.

Update 2:10 pm:  I inadvertently left the “in progress” label on this, so I feel compelled to add something…  Back to Stephanie Wei and her views on television rights.  If they ever let Wei, or anyone else, live stream from tournaments, they should allow consumers like me to purchase the Sky Sports coverage and watch it online.  My point is that is Wei feels slighted, how do you think we Americans feel when we are denied quality British golf coverage — even though we’d pay extra for it!

Fox in the Range House: I happened to catch a little bit of the Fox Sports coverage of the Women’s Amateur Four-Ball Championship last night.  If what I saw is any indication of what we’ll see at the U.S. Open, we’re in for a disaster.  I made myself watch about five minutes, but I wanted to turn it off immediately.  The problem is with the video.  The cameras were either (1) “shaky,” i.e., handheld, or (2) constantly zooming in and out.  Not only was it distracting, it strained my eyes and made me dizzy.  I turned it off when I felt a headache starting to develop.  I was really looking forward to Norman and Buck this summer at Chambers Bay, but if this is what Fox Sports planned for the U.S. Open, I simply won’t be able to watch.

I fear they are trying to “make golf coverage cool” by using “trendy” camera techniques or something.  Whatever the reason, yesterday’s coverage was, for me, absolutely unwatchable.  As much as I might want to watch Spieth and Rory battling it out on U.S. Open Sunday, I’m not going to give myself a three-day migraine for the privilege.

If you didn’t see the coverage, I’m not talking about frequent zooming, or occasionally shaking; I’m talking nonstop.  Every single image was either from a “shaky cam” or being zoomed in or out.  If a putter was standing over a putt, the camera was zooming in or out.  I guess the idea is that a non-static camera creates “action.”  Or something.  For me, it creates eye strain and a headache.  I literally will be unable to watch.  (Fox doesn’t do that crap during football games, so why are they ruining golf this way?)

Wei Out of Line:  I was thinking about Stephanie Wei’s (and other’s) claims that what she did wasn’t wrong because golf coverage needs to catch up with the new technology, blah blah blah.  We all use comparisons and analogies to help us make sense of the world; here’s one I came up with.  A husband and wife give a party for their son and some of his school chums, who are all 16 years old.  They serve wine to the kids.  Law enforcement is not happy.  Their defense?  Well, you can drink at age 16 in Germany, Denmark, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Belgium, etc., etc., so it’s time the U.S. joined the modern world, etc., etc.  It might be against the law in the U.S., but it shouldn’t be.  Therefore, the parents insist, they are within their rights to serve the wine.  Yeah, good luck with that.

Anyway, it’s hard to believe that Wei and Shipnuck and some others still insist Wei was railroaded.

Golfy Channel and the Crickets:  Still nothing from Golf Channel — or any of the other mainstream golf media — about the Woods-Vonn split being the result of Sex Scandal, Part Two.  Kyle Porter is the butt of a lot of jokes, but let’s give him and CBS credit for posting an article about the matter.  Golf Channel, which devoted more television time to Lindsay Vonn than any golfer apart from Woods, has nothing to say, write, or tweet about the matter.

The Woodward and Bernstein Award goes to Golf Digest:  The Woods fling with the “nameless, faceless” woman in San Diego was said to have occurred after he was bounced from the San Diego Open.  He was finished there on Feb 5, had his sex affair, and Golf Digest tweeted this a few days later:

vwoodsgdigToo funny.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Wednesday Thoughts

  1. JoseyWales says:

    Lanny…USA today has now picked up the Woods/Vonn cheating story.

    • lannyh says:

      Ah, good deal. I hope the story continues to play. It would be totally unfair for all the media outlets who did the PR work for Woods’s image using Vonn to go all “nothing to see here” on us. I’ll go take a look at what USA Today wrote.

    • lannyh says:

      I could not find anything from USA Today.

      • JoseyWales says:

        it was on the USA Today online sub service….

      • lannyh says:

        Oh, okay, thanks. I was disapointed that very few of the “major” news and sports outlets covered it, and if they did, it was a cursory, skeptical take. Especially after they covered the Woods-Vonn-Adorable Kids Par-3 Contest like it was the red carpet on Oscars night.

  2. Ken says:

    Also Yahoo sports.

    • lannyh says:

      I just saw that one. Ballengee wanted to dismiss it. He’s right that it was poorly written, but I surprised he would doubt this. Is it really so unlikely to him that Ballengee scoffs at it? Smells like a media attempt at “nothing to see here” to me. Still nothing from Golf.com, Golf Digest, or Golf Channel?

  3. Speedy says:

    Any more concerning TW’s broken tooth, on that surprise ski trip to unite with Lindsey?

  4. Speedy says:

    FOX golf teething is bound to happen, especially with a Shark at the helm. Will Feherty right the ship? Holly Sonders?

  5. Kris says:

    The hardest part about covering golf is the camerawork. Even networks that have been covering golf for decades zoom in at the wrong time or lose a ball in the air. If Fox turns their coverage into the blair witch project for the sake of creating “action” they’re going to drive viewers to online live streams and leaderboards. I doubt many people are dedicated enough to take excedrin and dramamine and mute the TV just so they can watch golf. I wonder how much of Fox’s US Open coverage will be on Fox Sports 1. I don’t get that channel, and I’m assuming a lot of people don’t, so online live streams and leaderboards might be the only option anyway.

  6. RealityBites says:

    The more I read about Tiger off the course, the more I find I just don’t care.

    • lannyh says:

      The golf media needs to stop propping him up. If they’d just let him fade away, golf would be so much better off. Golf needs him gone.

Leave a Reply

