My Tribute to Calvin Peete, on the 30th Anniversary of his Players Victory

When I began playing golf, Calvin Peete very quickly became my favorite golfer.  For me, he wasn’t just another Tour pro; he was my golfer.  Here’s why.

Calvin Peete took up golf at age 23.  I was 23 when I bought my first set of clubs.  If Calvin Peete could take up golf at age 23 and make it all the way to the PGA Tour, there was no reason I couldn’t take up golf at age 23 and get good enough to play with the guys at work.

Calvin Peete did not hit the ball a long way.  I did not hit the ball a long way.  If he could compete at the highest level of the game, surely there was no reason I couldn’t compete with the guys at work.

Most Tour pros, and most of the best weekend players, took golf lessons while in grade school and could hit the ball a mile.  Not Calvin Peete.  And not me.

When we start new endeavors, we can easily be discouraged by offhand remarks.  Calvin Peete made me impervious to the naysayers.

Every time Calvin Peete won a golf tournament, I felt like I won.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Tribute to Calvin Peete, on the 30th Anniversary of his Players Victory

  1. JoseyWales says:

    well said Lanny…

  2. Jason says:

    Thanks, Lanny. I think if you search the entire Internet you won’t find another tribute piece to Mr. Peete, and I am sure you won’t find anyone recognizing that today is the 30th anniversary of his most important win.

  3. Ken says:

    Mr. Peete seemed like a classy guy. He didn’t have a long run at the top, but for 6 or 7 years he was really great. The man almost never missed a fairway.

  4. Speedy says:

    Looper “Golf Ball” played an important role in keeping it real and reading greens.

Leave a Reply

