Monday Thoughts (early edition)

Quiz:

  • Mystery Player A: 2, 1, MC, T9, T11, 4, 1
  • Mystery Player B: T7, MC, T7, T4, T17, 1, 2, T2, 1, T11, T17
  • Mystery Player C: MC, WD, T17

Which of those players will the golf media obsess over this next week?

Golf is a Funny Game:  The “casual golf fans” with their “willed it into the hole” and “no one else could hit that shot” don’t understand this, but there is a big luck factor in golf.  Think back to Friday.  Rory on No. 17.  If he misses that long putt, none of this happens.

Hicks Propaganda:  Anyone else hear Hicks say today that the Players had the “deepest, best” field of the year?  Does he not know how easy it is for us to sort by field strength at the OWGR website and prove him wrong?  I suppose he could have meant “year to date.”  Sure, sure, it was just a slip of the tongue.

Smells Like Teen Desperation:  Tiger Woods sure is making a lot of “announcements” lately.  Is there some reason these announcements could not wait until his press conference at the Players this week?

He did it! — just like Tiger, ho hum:  It could not be more obvious that the golf media uses every great outing by Jordan Spieth and Rory McIlroy to dig up some nugget where they are merely the “first since Tiger Woods.”  You’re not going to hear much about how both Jordan and Rory won pro events as teenagers.  You’ll never hear combos of “first to win as a teenager, then go on to…”

Also, we don’t hear much about “chasing Jack” any more, do we?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monday Thoughts (early edition)

  1. TruthTeller says:

    Oh, Oh, Oh, Oh, teacher, teacher, I know this one!

  2. Kris says:

    Tiger’s PR games are tiresome. What’s worse is the way the golf media laps it up and acts like they don’t know they’re getting played. The fact that it took about 3 seconds for me to figure out who the mystery players were tells me that I watch entirely too much golf.

    I thought I posted a comment earlier on the live blog post, but it didn’t show up so I’ll ask my off-topic question again. Did you hear about Stephanie Wei getting her credentials revoked for the rest of 2015 and what are your thoughts on the situation?

    • lannyh says:

      First, that worries me that you think your comment didn’t show up. You are the second person to report something like that. Very troubling. I hope WordPress isn’t developing problems. I posted two articles last week which didn’t show up. I was able to back up to the edit screen and not lose anything, but it was a close call. I never had any problems for 3 or 4 years. I sure hope they aren’t ruining this place.

      I went by Shackelford a little bit ago and saw something about that. As I understand it, she’d been warned for the same offense before. If that’s the case and she deliberately broke the rule a second time, I have no sympathy for her. But I really just scanned the article (and it was pretty long). You have any thoughts on the matter? I like Stephanie and she does TV now for Fox Asia, so I hate that she won’t be able to do that any more. But she can still work LPGA and Asia/Europe, I suppose.

      • Sports-realist2 says:

        Well what was Wie’s MAJOR offense? Obviously the PGA doesn’t care if folks do steroids, so what did she do that was so over the top?…..Also Kris, there was an issue with me posting a while ago, and I changed my screen name and used a different email, and haven’t had an issue since……Obviously you were able to post under your original screen name, but if you have future problems, you can try that…It worked for me….

      • lannyh says:

        Haha, yeah, whatever she got banned for, it wasn’t steroids!

      • Kris says:

        I don’t know what the deal is with the comment. I thought you banned me for a second, haha. Stephanie Wei went on twitter acting like her getting her credentials revoked was a personal affront when in actuality she deliberately violated a rule because she doesn’t think it should be a rule. The PGA Tour doesn’t care if fans post videos because they can’t profit from it the same way a journalist with a popular blog can. The PGA Tour doesn’t want anyone profiting from their product but themselves. She can disagree with it all she wants, but if she continues to do something she was warned against doing, she has to face the consequences.

      • lannyh says:

        Kris, it sounds like Wei was daring them to revoke her credentials. I’ll have to go read her tweets. I’ve always like her; her perky, pretty demeanor brought something new to golf reporting. Being Asian was different, too.

        However, she’s starting to come across as something of a prima donna or a drama queen. Sounds like they made the right move in banning her. I would have done the same thing.

  3. Sports-realist2 says:

    Getting back to your point though, it is very sad that Mcllroy or Spieth could be living their entire careers in the constant media shadow of the medias god…Like you said, CBS first two headlines still have Eldrick in them for no real reason, but that CBS and Porter are PAID OFF to do so…..This is why I want Mcllroy to get more majors….I wanted Spieth to win the Master’s last year, then he would be the youngest to do so..Also wanted Spieth to break the Master’s record this year(still can’t believe he didn’t line up that last putt) for the same reason…..The MYTHOLOGY is so out of control, that the only thing that can change it is someone breaking Eldrick’s records, which is some cases aren’t PGA records, just his personal records, which the golfchannel still treats as MYTHICAL regardless….

  4. Speedy says:

    How many waterballs for Spieth at The Players?

  5. Speedy says:

    Tuesday at The Players, Spieth’s warming up by feeding the fish twice on 18.

Leave a Reply

