Lanny’s Endorsements: Who I Want to See Win on Wednesday

Justin Rose v Marc Leishman : I’m slightly for Rose.

Ryan Palmer v Anirban Lahiri :  Lahiri big-time.  He’s one of the Euro Seven

Jimmy Walker v Gary Woodland : Walker.  I like Walker and I’m also tired of the “Woodland is an athlete” bullshite.

Ian Poulter v Webb Simpson : Either is fine, but Webb has good memories of San Francisco.

Henrik Stenson v John Senden :  Stenson, I suppose.  He’s quite a funny, personable guy.

Bill Haas v Brendon Todd : Either is fine.

Matt Kuchar v Ben Martin : Either is fine.

Hunter Mahan v Stephen Gallacher :  Gallacher, member of Euro Seven.

Jason Day v Charley Hoffman :  Jason Day.

Zach Johnson v Branden Grace :  Grace, Euro Seven.

Sergio Garcia v Tommy Fleetwood : Either is fine, but I might have a slight preference for Fleetwood.

Jamie Donaldson v Bernd Wiesberger : Either is fine.  Donaldson is Euro Seven, and Wiesberger is a Euro who jalnichols excluded for some reason.  I hate that they are grouped together (along with Fleetwood).

Jordan Spieth v Mikko Ilonen :  While I like Ilonen, I’m for Spieth big-time.  Jordan Spieth is…  America’s Golfer!

Lee Westwood v Matt Every :  Either is fine.  Maybe a microscopic tip toward Westwood.

Patrick Reed v Andy Sullivan : Wow.  I’m a huge Reed fan, but I also want to see Sullivan, a Euro Tour player do well.  I want both to win.

Ryan Moore v Danny Willett : I have been a fan of Moore since at least is days of playing in a tie, but I’m for Willett in this one.  He’s another Euro.

Jim Furyk v George Coetzee : Either is fine.

Martin Kaymer v Thongchai Jaidee :  I love Kaymer, but I’m for Euro Sevener Jaidee.  This could be one helluva match.  Maybe the match of the day.

J.B. Holmes v Marc Warren :  Warren, a Euro Sixer.

Brooks Koepka v Russell Henley :  Tough one.  I probably like Henley a little better, but Koepka is still carrying the Euro Tour flag a little bit.

Bubba Watson v Miguel Angel Jimenez : Sorry, Bubba, but Jimenez is a Euro Sevener.

Louis Oosthuizen v Keegan Bradley : Either is fine.  Oostie is a super nice guy, and Keegan has that mini-tour dues-paying background.

Rickie Fowler v Harris English : Either is fine, though I still long for a Reed-English rematch.  Not sure how the brackets shape up for that possibility.

Graeme McDowell v Shane Lowry : Well, I’m not going to pull against Graeme, but I also like Euro Tour player and Irishman Lowry.  You may remember him bouncing Rory in round one a couple of years ago.  I’m for Graeme, but I hate that these two are in the same group.

Dustin Johnson v Matt Jones : Either, I suppose.  I’ve never been a huge fan of DJ, but his laid-back demeanor is starting to grow on me.  The little interview thing he did with Williams on apractice range a while back was nice.

Victor Dubuisson v Charl Schwartzel : Dubuisson.  I like Charl, but no way I can be against Vic.

Adam Scott v Francesco Molinari:  Molinari for his Euro Tour ties, though I guess he’s on PGA Tour now.

Chris Kirk v Paul Casey : Either is fine.

Rory McIlroy v Jason Dufner :  Rory, big-time.  Sorry, Duf.

Billy Horschel v Brandt Snedeker : Horschel, because Sneds is the poster boy for jalnichols’s theory of PGA Tour uber golfer superiority.  Sneds is a good guy, though.

Hideki Matsuyama v Alexander Levy :  Hard to say, as I really like both.  I guess I’ll go with Levy because he’s carrying the Euro Tour flag, but Matsuyama is not too far removed from the Japanese Tour.

Kevin Na v Joost Luiten : I like Na a lot, but I am going with Luiten, for Euro Tour reasons.

[The Euro Six in bold type.]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

