Random Post-Masters Monday Thoughts

Protective Custody:  Morning Drive’s headline news at bottom of second hour:  Spieth is second-youngest to win Masters; Tiger Woods was youngest.  Spieth is second-youngest to become OWGR; Woods was youngest.  They display a photo of Woods shaking hands with Rory and state Woods will play again no time soon.  They just can’t let go.

Making the Cut: At least twice during the Masters broadcasts, I heard a comment about Jordan Spieth making the cut at the Byron Nelson as a 16-year-old.  Is it not worth pointing out he went on to finish T-16, ahead of Kevin Streelman, Gary Woodland, Rickie Fowler, and a pre-Butch Jimmy Walker.  He finished two back of DJ, and six back of winner Jason Day, who picked up his maiden Tour victory that week.

One Last Ben Crenshaw Thought: His daughters are easy on the eyes.

We Will, We Will Grimace:  Tiger Woods’s drama queen act has grown old.  I mentioned how, when hitting out of tall rough, he huffs and puffs like a pre-schooler lifting a “heavy” object.  Yesterday we were treated to “ouch” faces and other “I think I’m going to die” gestures for fifteen minutes after the tree root incident.  Mr. Woods, you are 40-years-old.  It’s time to develop a stiff upper lip.

If Not Spieth:  If Spieth had not won yesterday, Rose would have been a gracious winner.  He would has shown class in victory and would not have danced on Spieth’s downfall.

What’s Next?  My horizon of interest for the past few weeks has ended with the Masters.  I know the Match Play is coming up pretty soon, but that’s it.  Let’s take a look:

Harbour Town
New Orleans Open
WGC Match Play
The Players
Quail Hollow (moving Match Play to May hurts this event)

Then off to Texas for the Colonial and Byron Nelson, then Memorial in Ohio.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Random Post-Masters Monday Thoughts

  1. HennyB says:

    GC has already started with “St. Andrew’s sets up so well for Tiger” ………..Un-Believable
    Did you hear Aaron Oberholser’s excuse for Tiger? His legs went out from under him today because he’s not in “walking shape” Lol get real

    • lannyh says:

      I missed those. My gosh. Ridiculous.

      • Sports-realist2 says:

        It’s a ‘rigged’ analysis with rigged coverage…We all saw how ‘rigged’ the coverage of this Master’s was yesterday, and it was sad….Now,being the world’s #1 doesn’t mean ANYTHING unless you are Eldrick(referring to how little they showed Rory yesterday)…….Now it doesn’t matter that Rory kicked Eldrick’s azz yesterday…..Now going OVER par in the first and last rounds means you are back somehow, while Rory finishing 4th and shooting 66 in the final round is just a yawner….The media will continue to draw at ANY straw left in the bails, but they are getting more and more delusional—–Cult-like trait….

  2. Ken says:

    Wow that’s a pathetic excuse from Olberholser. What, the “great athlete” that changed golf forever can’t walk 18 holes? Did he complete the Navy SEALs training on a Segway?

  3. Ken says:

    Upcoming schedule is a little less interesting. Harbour Town interests me only because I’ve played it. And Spieth will be there.

    • Speedy says:

      I played it once, many years ago, shortly after the tournament. I enjoyed its par-3s and 18, but preferred the “overallness” of Long Cove and Haig Point. Not to mention, Yeamans Hall in Charleston.

      • Ken says:

        I can’t say it was one of my favorite courses.

        I don’t mind difficult courses, prefer them actually. The difficulty there is off the tee. Very tight and you don’t just need to hit fairways, you need to hit the correct side. Not the strength of my game. I prefer longer courses where the difficulty is more in the approach shots.

  4. Speedy says:

    I’m starting to believe in sniff screens. Whenever Woods appeared on my TV, I smelled an offensive odor. The wrist bone adjustment is the latest of his wacky procedures. Good luck to him at Chambers Bay.

    Amen to Julie Crenshaw and daughters. Gorgeous gals.

    I can’t stop thinking of Spieth’s Saturday lob on 18. I imagine Greg Norman still winces about his wide-right there.

  5. Speedy says:

    I meant to add, I thought the Masters coverage slipped this year, particularly in the way of camera shots and direction. Numerous balls were lost by cameras. And at times, the director’s choices of camera shots were ill-suited and/or sloppy, not conducive to good story telling and flow. Also, as someone already mentioned, the insatiable interviewing only detracted.

Leave a comment