This is why this website exists…

I really enjoyed the tournament yesterday.  It was well-contested, full of excitement, and great sportsmen were in the hunt.  I kind of had a natural high afterward.  I woke up this morning and smiled thinking back on how much fun it had been to watch.

This afternoon, I came across the replay.  I watched the last few holes and the playoff.  Immediately afterward, Golf Central came on.  I decided to watch some of that.  I wanted to see if they had anything to add to yesterday’s tournament, and I also wanted to hear about this week’s event, with Rory back in action.

But they focused on… Tiger Woods.  They showed highlights several times.  Then they talked about him not playing.  Then they did some kind of demo about how he needs to chip.  It was ridiculous.  The guy hasn’t played for a month, isn’t playing this week, may not play for a month, is out with either injury or mental problems or a PED time-out, and they dedicate the majority of the hour to him.

I mean, seriously, what the hell is going on?

Dim-witted apologists will say, Oh, he moves the needle, but that’s because the golf media doesn’t bother to tell the audience about other players.  Rory McIlroy is a bigger international player now.  The UAE doesn’t even want Woods.  They would rather pay appearance fees to up-and-coming players.  EA Sports replaced Woods with Rory.

I have to think way, way back, but I remember when I was a kid, and I’d be taken to the houses of older people.  I’d be bored out of my head because they didn’t have any toys.  They just had “old people stuff.”  The houses smelled like burned coffee.  That’s what Golf Channel has become.  They only have Phil and Tiger, and I want newer stuff.  You know, stuff from this decade.

It’s sad and depressing.  It’s like the old magazines that couldn’t adapt to the digital age.  Watching Golf Channel is like turning on CNN to hear 24/7 discussions about whether George W. Bush or Bill Clinton should run for the House or Senate, and seeing constant highlights of their speeches.

By the way, I’m totally convinced Woods is out on some kind of non-suspension suspension.  It’s just too fishy.  Basically there is not a damn thing in the “policy” that is actually binding.  They can deny a suspension if it’s not an official suspension, but rather a mutual decision not to play or else you will get suspended.  (Wink, wink.)

I just re-read Bob Harig’s big “Olsen the Nut Retracted” article, and Geoff Shackelford’s short piece wherein he mocks Olsen, and it looks to me like Harig wrote several inaccurate statements and Shackelford repeated them.  The bottom line is that Olsen is being mocked for saying crazy, stupid things that are not at all crazy or stupid.  This weird ground cover provided by the media makes me think they are probably unknowingly (or knowingly) being manipulated by the Woods camp.

Do golf writers just not fact check at all?  If one golf writer repeats what another one said, he should quote him.  If instead he writes it as fact with no attribution, he should make sure it actually is, you know, fact.  I think they just sit around reading each other’s tweets all day and repeating them.

For so many guys who focus on Woods to the exclusion of everything else, you’d think there’d be at least ONE who would not be a cheerleader.  One who would say, “This PED stuff looks suspicious as hell.”

Oh, about the title.  I had a good reason for that title when I started writing.  I’ve forgotten it.  I suppose I meant if I wrote this anywhere else, it would be deleted.  Oh, wait, I think I meant Golf Channel’s coverage is so ridiculously bad, I had to have a place to vent.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to This is why this website exists…

  1. JoseyWales says:

    well said, Lanny!

    • lannyh says:

      Thanks. It was frustrating to be “high” after the Valspar and have the Golf Channel go immediately into their All Tiger All The Time routine. If that’s the best they can do, the whole lot of them need to be fired. Bring in some fresh blood.

      • JoseyWales says:

        So what is the headline story this morning on the Golf Channel website?…”Tiger Madness…Tiger woods Greatest Moments Match Play”…unbelievable.

  2. Sports-realist says:

    It would be really nice to get an ‘inside’ scoop on Olsen…..We KNOW that you just don’t say alot of stuff, then just say EVERYTHING didn’t count, nothing to see here…..We KNOW something was done behind the scenes….Was money given? Was Olsen personally threatened? You’ve gotta believe that Olsen, behind the scenes, is still BELIEVING what he said in that interview, so what gives? Bribery, Extortion, threats, or is this just all a Barney and Friends episode we haven’t seen yet?

    • lannyh says:

      Yeah, I wish an impartial reporter, from outside the incestuous golf world, would go talk to him, although he’s probably too afraid to talk at this point.

      My guess is threats of financial ruin. David Walsh got sued by Lance Armstrong and had to pay (he and the Sunday Times) over a million dollars to Armstrong — for telling the truth! Who wants those kind of headaches?

      On the other hand, David Walsh didn’t want the headaches either, but he had the spine to face them. You’d think the golf media would have at least ONE person like that.

  3. Sports-realist says:

    Also, as far as the ‘suspension without a suspension’….At first I thought it was similar to Dustin Johnson’s situation, but then you’d have to believe that Finchem and Woods got the idea to FAKE an injury and walk off the course, to satifsy his endorsement obligations ect(but really be suspended)…..If THAT is true, then I have no doubt that ped’s are being covered up on the PGA, and Finchem is doing whatever he wants, regardless…This would also make Woods look really small, if he went through that whole ‘song and dance’ of faking an injury while playing……If the suspension is NOT actually a suspension, then Woods will play at Augusta….If he misses Augusta, then I think that the ‘secret suspension’ is very much in the cards…..Finchem could be doing SECRET suspensions for two reasons: 1. It protects Finchem when all this hits the fan, and Finchem can say that players were actually being penalized……2. To protect the PGA image, as we know, if Eldrick is viewed as a cheater, the golf channel has no product, and Nike has lost it’s biggest hero, and the networks would be in panic…

  4. JoseyWales says:

    Woods would probably be immune to suspension at Augusta since the PGA Tour has nothing to say about who plays in the Masters.

    • lannyh says:

      I was wondering about that. There is some guy I read about last night (he was well-known, but I’ve forgotten his name) who was supposedly banned, but played in the U.S. Open and some other non PGA Tour event. I am guessing this is one little factoid the golf media WILL NOT mention if Woods plays nothing before Augusta, then plays there.

  5. JoseyWales says:

    I would say if Woods plays nothing and then plays in the Masters that would be a HUGE red flag.

  6. Jason says:

    TW won’t play at Augusta this year. I am curious to see how the mainstream golf media spins his reasoning for skipping the Champions Dinner.

    • lannyh says:

      If I were him, there is no way I would skip the Masters unless I were injured. (Well, or secretly suspended). Why not play? If you lose at golf, you write down a bigger number. So what! It’s not like boxing where if you can’t compete, you get pummeled. Why not chance it and hope you get lucky and catch lightning in a bottle?

Leave a Reply

