Stephen A. Smith Calls Tiger Woods and Mark Steinberg Liars !!!

Very interesting comments from Stephen A. Smith and Skip Bayless on this edition of First Take.

The entire segment runs for fifteen minutes and is worth listening to because the tone of Stephen A. Smith’s comments don’t fully come across in text.  Here are a few highlights:

Smith: […] when you are down and out, not just psychologically, but physically breaking down.

Bayless: He’s not physically… he said he’s fine.

Smith: I think that’s a lie.

Hostess: Oh yeah, I don’t believe that. I don’t think he’s being honest.

Smith: I think that’s a lie. I think that’s a lie.

And:

Bayless: Just the week before he said he’s 100 percent off his back surgery.

Smith: Wait a minute, Skip, I’m not trying to tell you… I’m not, I’m not saying that you’re wrong, in terms of… you’re giving the right information. I’m telling you I don’t believe him.  That’s what I’m saying.  I’m not, I’m not, I’m telling you, that, listen, you’re talking about your back, you’re just fine, and then you hurt your back again, but it’s got nothing to do with the back surgery.  Well, how many backs do you have?  You know what I’m saying?  I mean, if your back’s hurting, your back’s hurting.  Now you can sit there and say it’s a different part of the back this time around or whatever, but the fact is that you’re  having surgery–  it’s your back, your hips, your knees.  Come one man, he’s not telling the truth.  The fact is that Tiger Woods is physically breaking down before our very eyes, so it’s one thing when psychologically you appear warped, but it’s another thing when you know physically you can’t hang, and the totality of that combination…

And:

Bayless: So you are saying the agent lied yesterday.

Smith: Yes!

Bayless: …that this is not…

Smith: Yes!

Bayless: …this is…

Smith: Yes!

Bayless: So you’re saying the agent is lying.  Mark Steinberg told a lie to Bob Harig of ESPN.com, that this had nothing to do with the back surgery, this was some unrelated back issue, it was just a spasm because it was cold in San Diego.

Smith: Let me answer your question with a rhetorical question.  An agent lying, stop the presses.

Lastly:

Smith: I believe in my heart of hearts that Tiger Woods is debilitated physically.  He doesn’t have it, and that is why he walked away, ’cause he knows he can’t get it done against these guys, and it’s killing him that he knows he can’t get it done.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stephen A. Smith Calls Tiger Woods and Mark Steinberg Liars !!!

  1. Kyle says:

    I think I see what you’re getting at, but I must side with Skip on this one. Given what Tiger and Hank Haney have said in the past, it makes more sense that he’s simply lost interest. I never felt that his chipping problems could be adequately explained any other way.

    Indeed, if you watch the coverage on Golf Channel, the only real debate is over just how much his game is messed up. No one seems to question his desire – that is pretty much treated as a universal constant.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Stephen A. Smith might be the most annoying talking head in the media. That’s not to say he’s wrong or right. He’s just annoying as finger nails on a chalk board. Like Brandel, Stephen A. needs to go away.

Leave a Reply

