“Moderation” at CBS Golf

I made a comment to an article at CBS Golf.  A Tiger Woods Only fan didn’t like it and responded with a personal insult and an accusation that I was a member of the KKK.  Hmmm.  Seemed more than a little out of line.  CBS allowed it, though, so I responded without stooping to his level, playing off of the saying that patriotism is the last refuge of a scoundrel.  They deleted MY comment, but allowed the one saying I was in the KKK to stand.

I have protested, but they’ll probably delete my protest, so I’ll print it here…

cbs1[Hopefully I wrote “refuge of” not “refuge or” yesterday…]

It’s disheartening to see my comment, with at least some amount of actual wit, being deleted, but a post childishly insulting my name then slandering me with an accusation of racism stands.

Oh, well, that’s the good thing about this blog.  CBS (or any other golf website) can delete any and everything they want, including my account.  But they can’t touch a damn thing here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Moderation” at CBS Golf

  1. Bermuda Bob says:

    Do you still have your original comment that spurned such a sophomoric response of misplaced ire ??? It would be interested to see it …

    Rock On !!!

    • lannyh says:

      It’s still there, so you can go read it. It was a little bit provocative, intentionally (i.e., a bit of a troll, but then so was the article itself), but certainly fine for a sports comment section. Something like, “Watson told Woods he wasn’t good enough for the team. I guess Woods ain’t all that, and never was!” Something along those lines.
      The article was insinuating that Watson forced Woods to drop out of consideration for the Ryder Cup.

  2. sretsam68 says:

    I thought everyone who dared say anything not praiseworthy about Tiger had their pointy white hats on. I know I do (haha). How pathetic.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Apparently the word racism is more offensive than someone implying you’re a Klansman. In all honesty, you’re a known shit stirrer, so some of your comments get unfairly deleted while other comments from lesser known commenters slip through the cracks.

    • lannyh says:

      You know, my original comment there was meant to stir things up and liven up the rather dead comment section, yes, but that too was the entire point of the article. The article’s only reason for existing was to say, “Tom told Tiger to bow out. Whooooooooaaaaaaahhhhh.” So I just kind of jumped on that, which was obviously the Pavlov’s dog response CBS was fishing for.
      I think you are probably right about why mine was whacked and the other remained, but mine was polite and witty (even literate, if I say so myself) compared to childish, inflammatory, and crude. Oh, well. My skin is tough.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Ofcourse some folks are WAITING to be offended….Minorities seem to be more prone to this….The media has helped that along, with how they report stories….

    • lannyh says:

      Yeah, it’s sad, really, the way the media behaves. They profit from dividing people. They know conflict draws a crowd. The golf media has tried to do that with Woods. Woods was once the petite American gymnast trying to knock off the favorites in the Olympics; we were all expected to collectively cheer for her, and we largely did so. That narrative broke in 2009, so now the narrative is “you either love him or hate him.”
      What’s weird with the racism claims regarding those criticizing Woods is that his popularity rating was 93 percent before the scandal, which is just unheard of. No one gets that high a rating. He was a beloved figure. Now he’s at 17 percent or whatever, and his skin color did not change at all. Yet, if you criticize Woods, you are likely to be called a racist, even if, like me, you were his biggest fan prior to Thanksgiving 2009. I think the media definitely plays a role in that. [This time I mean the general media, not the golf media, which has largely stayed away from any kind of explicit, or even implicit, allusions to race.]

Leave a Reply

