While waiting for Rory to tee off…

While waiting for Rory to tee off, I made the full rounds of the golf websites I find worthwhile.  I don’t read Geoff Shackelford every day, but I always try to catch up, so I at least see the headline of every single article he writes.  Why?  Because he is a “mainstream” golf writer (the only one?) who is not afraid to call a spade a spade, so sometimes he writes things you simply don’t want to miss.  By that, I mean: True things written for intelligent people.  (Shackelford will sometimes  step outside the bounds of golf.  I remember him not too long ago pointing out a New York Times article on the publishing industry which I found fascinating.)

I found this article today at Shackelford’s website: “Great Read: MyGolfSpy’s Anonymous Retailer Takes On Vendors”.  It’s an anonymous article by a golf equipment retailer who discusses the reality of dealing with the equipment manufacturers.  I have only read a little of it, but I intend to read the rest as soon as I finish this blog entry.

The article to which Shackelford refers is on a website called My Golf Spy.  That’s a new website to me (although, frankly, I sometimes visit websites then forget all about them).  Admittedly, golf equipment is not my greatest interest, but the problems of manipulation by powerful corporations is a topic near and dear to my heart.

As I looked around on MyGolfSpy this morning, I came across a fairly-recent article, “YOUR OPINION – Golf Companies Control Over Media.”  In the short piece, he describes a couple of incidents he has recently had with equipment manufacturers which were, to me, interesting and revealing.

Anyway, I thought I’d mention those articles as well as make these two points:

  1. Don’t neglect to read Geoff Shackelford.
  2. MyGolfSpy.com might be worth investigating.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to While waiting for Rory to tee off…

  1. sretsam68 says:

    Sometimes I think if I hear Johnny Miller say “baby” cut or “baby” draw one more time, I’m going to vomit. Also, his overuse of the word “crazy”. I liked him when he first started commentary, but it’s time for a change. Anyway, I just had to get that out. Thanks.

    • lannyh says:

      I so agree with you. He used to be the best, but now he’s annoying.

      Another thing I’d like to ask some of the pros… “When the announcers say a player pulls or pushes a putt, how often is that accurate?”

      Everything to the left is a pull to them, everything to the right a push. Is there no other way a putt can be missed?

      • sretsam68 says:

        Agreed. Hey, did you hear about Greg Norman? Hope he gets better in time to adequately make demonstration shots when he begins television commentary next year for the USGA events, Love your site. Keep up the good work!

      • lannyh says:

        Thanks much. I did hear about Norman, but I had not thought about it in relation to next year’s coverage. I hope he is okay. I’m thinking he’s going to be good.

      • Anonymous says:

        Sure. Didn’t play/read enough break. Played too much break. Hit it too hard. Hit it too soft.

        Normally you can tell when it’s a pull or a push rather than one of the above by the players reaction. A pull or push is usually a pretty immediate response. When it’s one of the above, you usually get the body english action as the ball gets up to the hole.

Leave a comment